TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 28-Nov-2013, 2:24 AM   #1
korzal

help with first antenna purchase

my cable company has finally scrambled our local channels so I'm looking to purchase an antenna. I will admit that I am a complete novice to this. I'm primarily hoping to get NBC, Fox, CBS, ABC (also CW and PBS if possible). I live in a 1st floor apartment so an outdoor or roof antenna is pretty much a no-go. Budget is important to me, so I was thinking of something like a Winegard Freevision. Not sure if that would be powerful enough for CBS and ABC. I have a window that faces northwest, but with a 2 story apartment building directly across the street.

suggestions/recommendations greatly appreciated!!!

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...46ae8ce0eae264
korzal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2013, 4:58 AM   #2
GroundUrMast

I'd suggest you try a Terk HDTVi (not the HDTVa) .

If you have exclusive use of a balcony or porch area, the FCC rules provide protection of your right to place an antenna there. http://www.fcc.gov/guides/over-air-r...n-devices-rule

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2013, 6:07 AM   #3
teleview

+=>
------
Put the HDTVi antenna in/at the window and aim the antenna at about North ~ North West.

Here is how to aim indoor and outdoor antennas.

www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html

The Tv Must Channel Scan for the , OTA=Over The Air , Digital Broadcast Tv stations/channels , often named the ~ DTV Channels ~ Antenna Channels ~ Air Channels ~ in the Tv Setup Menu because the Tv transmissions travel through the Air from the transmitting antenna to the receiving antenna.

Here are some places to buy antennas and etc. .

www.solidsignal.com

www.amazon.com

-------

The next time you move , consult Tvfool and move to a place that good unobstructed views in directions of reception.