TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 25-Sep-2013, 2:42 PM   #1
martinkopf

Help receiving CBS and ABC

Hi all,

I am having a difficult time picking up CBS and ABC which is on mount Soledad about 17 mies from me. I have a Spectrum 8 sp813 in my attic. I have tried many locations in my attic, on my patio, all around my house and get everything, except CBS and ABC edge2 stations? Any suggestions, I am new to OTA and have a new hobby!

Here is my tvfool report
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...46ae31a4c17294
martinkopf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Sep-2013, 6:13 PM   #2
GroundUrMast

It's not uncommon to see small panel shaped antennas sold with claims of great gain, UHF/VHF & FM capability. The really bad ones also claim fantastic mileage, 100 or more miles.

Then the reality sets in. The basic antenna element is little better than the UHF loop on a rabbit ear style indoor antenna. I honestly don't know if that's the design used in the antenna you're using but your description strongly suggests that you have an antenna with modest UHF capability and little if any VHF performance.

If you/re committed to making an attic installation work, try an Antennacraft Y10713 (if it will fit and aim correctly). It's a large High-VHF antenna, designed to receive real channels 7 through 13. The two signals you're having a hard time with are broadcast on real CH-8 & CH-10 which a UHF antenna is not going to do well with.

If the Y10713 can't fit, then consider the Y5713. In either case the antenna needs to point west. The down-lead terminals are toward the rear of the antenna in this design.

You'll need to use a UHF/VHF signal combiner to merge the signal from your existing antenna with the new H-VHF antenna. The Radio Shack #15-2586 http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2103923 is preferred in this case because it can pass power for the UHF antenna's amplifier circuit.