TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 21-Jul-2011, 3:54 PM   #1
Tug

Reception help in Pella, WI

I've read many posts and am very impressed by the specific help people are getting, so I figured I should ask before I make any more mistakes.

I have a place in the woods (surrounded by trees) that I get spotty reception in the summer and better reception in the winter. I assume its because of leaves on the trees, but I'm no expert. For what its worth, even after the leaves are gone, it gets better when it is bitter cold.

Setup:
- My antenna is (was) an older fairly large directional antenna that is on a pole attached to the corner of my house about 25' high pointed aproximately at 120* towards the Green Bay Stations.

- The coax runs aprox 65 feet to an indoor powered distribuption amp that splits it to two TVs. I don't have the name/model of that. I think it's cheap, I'll take a look the next time I'm up there. I can say that I've tried with and without and it improved my reception somewhat so I left it in. This all came with the place when I got it a few years ago.

Reception:
- I get channels 2 and 38 the strongest and almost all the time.
- Channel 5 is the next strongest and usually get it.
- Channel 11 is more spotty
- Channels 14 and 26 I only get in the winter.

The only two things I have done to improve reception is slightly change direction of the antenna and play with the distribution amp.

Last week, prior to finding posts on this site, I decided to try to improve my situation by buying a pre-amp. I have a CM7777 on its way from Amazon.

Unfortunately, high winds over the weekend pushed a tree on my place that luckily didn't do any major damage, but it did destroy my antenna. I'll attach a pic if I can figure it out.

Here is the URL to my GPS coordinates TVFool.com report: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...03f32955211404