TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 30-Mar-2012, 5:34 PM   #1
crockpotman

Winegaurd FV-HD30 in New Milford Ct????

Hi everyone,
Newbie here looking for some guidance from the experts. Below is my tvfool report from my exact location.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...0b86c24245d247

It doesnt look promising for a Winegaurd FV-HD30. I would greatly appreciate any help/tips before I even attempt to put up this antenna.

Like everyone, I am trying to snadbag my charter bill.
Feel free to email me direct at crockpotman@att.net.
Thank you in advance.
crockpotman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Mar-2012, 7:04 PM   #2
GroundUrMast

You have some very challenging terrain within a few miles of your location. When you click on the call sign of a given station listed on your TV Fool report, you cal see a profile of the terrain between the transmitter (on the left) and your location (shown on the right).

For example: WTNH-DT
This shows that you're blocked by terrain that's relatively close.

Small antennas such as the FV-HD30 are not up to the task in your situation.

Doing some reverse engineering to locate the general area, it appears that an extreme tower (several hundred feet tall) would be required to begin to reach significantly improved signal conditions. I estimate your elevation to be roughly 240' ASL, and I see terrain to the east rising above 800' ASL in the area of Mine Hill Preserve.

Do you have a friend, family member or acquaintance living at a higher location? The idea of locating a product like SlingBox or a home theater PC, accessible via an internet connection looks like a possible solution. For example, some one living up on Upper Reservoir Rd near Broadview Ln has dramatically better signal conditions to work with.