TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-Mar-2015, 11:47 AM   #1
tbradnc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 11
Followup: Tricities - OTA reception

Last week I posted a question about the best antenna for where I live in the Tri-Cities, TN area.

Fast forwards and I have an antenna installed now, with rotor, and am able to pick up all networks in HD and 8 other random channels.

The issue I'm having is with our big TV in the living room. It loses the signal momentarily on FOX and from time to time on ABC - not for long - maybe 1-2 seconds then will pick it up again and play for another 20 minutes or so before it happens again. I have tweaked the direction via the rotor and cannot find a sweet spot where this never happens.

This does not happen with the TV in our bedroom. It never loses signal. It also scans for new channels much faster and overall seems more suited to OTA configurations.

My question is this: Is there a difference in TV makes when it comes to OTA reception? (seems so).

If so, what TV manufacturer makes a 43"-50" set with "the best" tuner?

Thank you.
tbradnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-Mar-2015, 2:32 PM   #2
Greenish Apple
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SE Ontario Canada
Posts: 28
Swap TVs?

Have you swapped one of the TVs to the other room?

If you move the TV from the bedroom to the living room and the issue exists then it could be the cable or the splitter.

If it doesn't, buy a bigger version of the bedroom TV.

What Splitter are you using? Are you using RG6 cable? Are the connections tight at the living room TV? (heating up and cooling down?)

1) Check the connections from the splitter to the living room TV. If it is still an issue...
2) Move the bedroom TV to living room to test connection.

More testing.

David
Greenish Apple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-Mar-2015, 2:33 PM   #3
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,942
Quote:
Is there a difference in TV makes when it comes to OTA reception? (seems so).
Yes, this is commonly noted. All tuners are not created equal. Some vendors slap whatever is cheapest in their sets because they're required to by law to have the digital tuner in TV sets. I haven't found a TV manufacturer yet who is serious enough about the performance of their OTA tuners to brag about them since most know that around 90% of their customers will hook up to cable or satellite via one of the other inputs and that antenna usage will, at best, be an afterthought for those folks.

Quote:
If so, what TV manufacturer makes a 43"-50" set with "the best" tuner?
Impossible to say. Some really dirt-cheap brands have been found to have very decent tuners, some models of upper tier brands have been found to have poor to mediocre tuners.

Very generally, I've had good results with the tuners in Sony, Sharp, LG, Samsung, and Visio sets.

As always, YMMV.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.

Last edited by ADTech; 20-Mar-2015 at 2:36 PM.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-Mar-2015, 5:35 PM   #4
BigDaveyL
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADTech View Post
Yes, this is commonly noted. All tuners are not created equal. Some vendors slap whatever is cheapest in their sets because they're required to by law to have the digital tuner in TV sets. I haven't found a TV manufacturer yet who is serious enough about the performance of their OTA tuners to brag about them since most know that around 90% of their customers will hook up to cable or satellite via one of the other inputs and that antenna usage will, at best, be an afterthought for those folks.



Impossible to say. Some really dirt-cheap brands have been found to have very decent tuners, some models of upper tier brands have been found to have poor to mediocre tuners.

Very generally, I've had good results with the tuners in Sony, Sharp, LG, Samsung, and Visio sets.

As always, YMMV.
A stupid question.... Are the Zenith/Insignia set top box any good for reception? I know it's SD only....
BigDaveyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-Mar-2015, 9:19 PM   #5
tbradnc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 11
We have a JVC (LT-42PM30) in the living room.

I was able to turn the coax a full turn before it was snug - maybe it was something as simple as that. So far, so good.
tbradnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC