TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7-Dec-2014, 7:28 PM   #1
CompnayB
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8
Is it the Antenna or the TV

Greetings.
We have, as many others, cut the cable and installed an outside antenna. The goal was to receive; CBS, NBC, FOX and ABC and among others, we have accomplished that. There is one potential problem and that is that when we hooked up the outside antenna and turned the TV on, a maze of moving spider web like lines covered the screen. Although we had the same thing show up now and again with the cable, we were wondering if it is something in the set or some sort of outside interference. Thanks for any input.
CompnayB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Dec-2014, 2:08 PM   #2
Ben Myers
KD3WB
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 51
A picture would be helpful.
Ben Myers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Dec-2014, 9:39 PM   #3
CompnayB
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8
To post pictures, do I have to have a connection with somebody like Image Shack to post from there?
CompnayB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Dec-2014, 9:43 PM   #4
tomfoolery
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 207
For a quick post without establishing an account anywhere, upload to tinypic.com and post the url it returns with the ubb code on each end. No account, and cryptic url that's meaningless to anyone but tinypic.
tomfoolery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Dec-2014, 10:11 PM   #5
CompnayB
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8
[IMG]tinypic.com/r/eDfzhf/B[/IMG]
CompnayB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Dec-2014, 11:35 PM   #6
Jake V
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Virginia!
Posts: 328
That URL does not work for me.

Copy the full URL that you know works into a post. Do not use the IMG or any other formatting.
Jake V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Dec-2014, 12:21 AM   #7
CompnayB
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8
http://i58.tinypic.com/5mbxbr.jpg[/1
CompnayB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Dec-2014, 1:29 AM   #8
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,939
That's a problem with the TV itself.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Dec-2014, 2:24 AM   #9
CompnayB
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8
Could you be more specific?
CompnayB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Dec-2014, 2:48 AM   #10
CompnayB
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8
My wife reminded me that there is a high short wave antenna around the corner from us. Could that cause the noise?
CompnayB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Dec-2014, 8:49 AM   #11
Stereocraig
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 472
It sounds like it's been narrowed down to the point of you needing to substitute a different TV, or trying your TV at a different location.
Problems caused by anything but the TV itself, would likely be intermittent.

Have you tried different input sources w/ the antenna disconnected?
Stereocraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 1:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC