TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 21-Jun-2011, 1:28 PM   #1
kawititnow

Did I get the right antennas?

Hello everyone,

I'm completely new to OTA TV. In fact I haven't even canceled cable yet, since I'm still testing out the antenna.

Before I get started here is my signal analysis:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...001ba6faa070fd

I recently purchased 2 antennas (1 for each TV in the house).

In the living room we have a new LED-LCD TV, so I have to admit what the antenna "looks like" kinda matters. So I went with the Terk FDTV2A (Omni-Directional and amplified). I have done a little research, but went with what I thought was the best at Best Buy.

For our other TV I just went with a $10 "rabbit ears" RCA.

So far I'm pretty impressed. I watched the US Open all weekend and couldn't believe the quality of the HD.

The main channels I'm concerned about receiving are the "Big 3" NBC, ABC and CBS. In my area that's virtual channels 4.1, 5.1 and 9.1 respectively. Channel 4.1 (NBC) comes in pretty good, 9.1 (CBS) is somewhat consistent, but I'm having problems getting any sort of consistency out of 5.1.

I have the antenna facing north even slightly angled to the east to point more toward the towers.

Does weather play a factor in quality of reception? We never got any rain at our place, but there was a lot of high wind, rain and hail in the area of the towers, when I was having the most trouble with 5.1 (ABC).

Thanks
kawititnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-Jun-2011, 4:08 PM   #2
Tower Guy

Quote:
Originally Posted by kawititnow View Post
I was having the most trouble with 5.1 (ABC).

Thanks
5.1 is on real channel 7. It's one of two VHF stations. KOCO is running 65 KW, KETA is running 50 KW, which is plenty of power for VHF.

EV, a well known tester of indoor antennas has this to say about the Terk: