TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7-Jun-2013, 10:26 PM   #1
Brokenspoke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Milner Georgia
Posts: 19
Antenna System Set-Up Help

Hi all, I've been reading threads the last couple of days and have found a lot of information and knowledgeable people and would like to thank everyone in advance for any help. We moved here 16 years ago and the previous owner had installed a small antenna on the chimney hooked to a channel master pre-amp model 0264C. We are about 40 miles south of Atlanta Ga. with most stations on the northern side of Atlanta. We received about 10 stations out of Atlanta a couple from Macon and Columbus as well as one from South Carolina. Later we installed sattelite and when re-roofing after storm damage removed the antenna. DSL arrived in our area recently and we now stream movies and such and would like to drop direct-tv and receive what channels we can OTA. I have a tower that was used for ham radio that I will relocate here it is either 30 or 40 feet. Our house is a 100 year old wood frame farm house with shingle roof. It is located on 6 acres mostly lawn with a few very old and large oaks and pecan trees. When I move my pointer around my property while mapping signals it varies from a few channels available to twenty or so. It is fairly clear to our north with no mountains between us and Atlanta. I have used my coordinates as my address location on google earth and map quest is off by over a mile. I looked at the Channel Master 3671 Deep Fringe and the Winegard HD8200U Platnium antenna both had fairly good reviews, however I am open to all recomendations and advice on best equipment for my situation. I will need antenna,rotator,pre-amp maybe more would like to run 2 maybe 3 TVs. All advice and guidance will be greatly appreciated. Thanks to the people who operate and maintain this site the moderators, experts and others.
My Info
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...1dda612c1e229e
Brokenspoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Jun-2013, 6:37 AM   #2
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Disconnect and Remove satellite system passive and active componets such as , multi-switches , multi-plexers , diplexers , combiners , separaters , splitters , amplifiers , power injectors , power supplies and etc. .

Yes the satellite system coaxes and other coaxes that are on or in the house can be used for the antenna system.
___________________________________________________

The most Digital Tv stations/channels are the Atlanta area.

Install a Winegard HD7698P antenna aimed at about 356 degree magnetic compass direction.

Here is how aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html.
______________________________________

Install a Winegard AP8700 preamp.
______________________________________

For 1 Tv connected use No splitter.

For 2 Tv's connected use a , HFS-2D , 2 way splitter.

For 3 Tv's connected use a , HFS-3D , 3 way splitter.

By the HFS splitters at , http://www.solidsignal.com , or , http://www.hollandelectronics.com.

_______________________________________

Here are some places to buy antennas and etc. .

http://www.solidsignal.com.

http://www.amazon.com.

http://www.winegarddirect.com.

_______________________________________

As always , trees and tree leaves , plants and plant leaves , have a negative effect on broadcast tv reception , multi-path/reflections , absorbing , blocking , broadcast Tv reception , and so do buildings and other obstructions.

The Best Practice is to install the antenna at a location that has the least amount to no amount of obstructions of any type or kind in the direction/s of reception.

The Tv's Must Channel Scan for the Digital Broadcast Tv stations/channels , often named the 'Air Channels' or 'Antenna Channels' in the Tv Setup Menu because the Tv transmissions travel through the Air from the transmitting antenna to the receiving antenna.

Some Digital Tv's will Automatic channels scan for cable tv channels.

DO NOT channel scan for cable tv channels.

Go into the Tv Setup Menu and select 'Air Channels' ~ 'Antenna Channels'.

Scan for channels.

Last edited by teleview; 13-Jun-2013 at 4:40 AM. Reason: Clarify information and typos.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9-Jun-2013, 10:54 PM   #3
Brokenspoke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Milner Georgia
Posts: 19
Thanks Teleview,
Any recomendation on rotatator or convertorbox? I have two older Tvs that still work well and one hd tv. Buying and installing the equipment will not leave much money for replacing TVs till later.
Brokenspoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Jun-2013, 12:55 AM   #4
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Recommend Do Not use a antenna rotator , antenna rotation Is Not Channel Surfing Friendly , must wait for antenna to rotate , And Will Be Domestic Situations About The Direction The Antenna Is Aimed.

Go for the Many Digital Tv stations/channels the Atlanta area.

Aim the HD7698P antenna at about 356 degree magnetic compass direction as recommended.

Most Digital Tv's and Tuner boxes have a signal strength meter and some also have a signal quality meter.

The antenna aim direction can be adjusted for best reception of the Atlanta area Tv stations.

_____________________

Walmart has the simple RCA DTA800B1 converter box. http://www.walmart.com.

Here are boxes that do a lot more.

http://www.epvision.com.

http://www.channelmasterstore.com.

Last edited by teleview; 10-Jun-2013 at 8:54 PM. Reason: Clarify information and typos.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-Jun-2013, 12:49 PM   #5
Brokenspoke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Milner Georgia
Posts: 19
Thanks Teleview, not much chance for domestic discord as it is only the wife and myself hear now and our taste in programs are close to the same. We don't channel surf much its more like we check the guide then decide what to watch although she stays up later than me and sometimes streams Twilight and Pretty little liars LOL. I would however like to have the ability to aim the antenna remotely as mounted on the tower it will not be that accessable. It also seams it would be easier to do the intial aim with a rotator but if a rotator is going to create problems then I definately would prefer to avoid it. You guys are providing a great service trial and error would be time consumming and costly. Well thanks again for the help.
Brokenspoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Jun-2013, 3:18 PM   #6
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
http://www.channelmasterstore.com/TV...p/cm-9521a.htm.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC