TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 8-Aug-2017, 2:44 AM   #1
mogulman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
New Antenna? Weather..from Ant751

I've had an RCA Ant751 attached to the side of my house up near the roof. Feeds 2 outlets with a single outdoor splitter. Both outlets are about 50 feet from the antenna (cable length), down side of house through basement and up through floor. One outlet goes directly to a 50" Insignia TV. The other outlet has a splitter that feed two dual tuner Hauppauge hvr-2250 cards (total 4 tuners) in a wmc 8.1 htpc. RG6, grounded. no amp.

Reception strength is a little better on the insignia TV. I'm assuming because it is either more sensitive than the PC cards or it isn't split again.

In general reception is good most of the year. Since I put up the antenna, trees have gotten bigger. In the summer, reception is worse. Especially if it is rainy. Sometimes I can only get a few channels in the rain. All the stations I care about are about 30-35 miles away at around 300-310 degrees, green TV fool area. Combo of UHF, hiVHF.

Wondering if a bigger antenna would help. I really want to keep the antenna
In the same location, if possible, not sure how large an antenna I could mount to the wall of the house.

The Ant751 has been up for about 7 years. There is a big Aspen tree right in front of it, line of sight to stations (branches/leaves, not main trunk), within a couple of feet.

Any suggestions?

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4d838dfbfdc

Last edited by mogulman; 8-Aug-2017 at 2:50 AM.
mogulman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Aug-2017, 5:12 AM   #2
mogulman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Antenna's Direct Elev-J3, looks like a bigger Ant-751?
mogulman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Aug-2017, 11:57 AM   #3
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogulman View Post
Since I put up the antenna, trees have gotten bigger. In the summer, reception is worse. Especially if it is rainy. Sometimes I can only get a few channels in the rain.
The Ant751 has been up for about 7 years. There is a big Aspen tree right in front of it, line of sight to stations (branches/leaves, not main trunk), within a couple of feet.

Any suggestions?

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4d838dfbfdc
By far, your biggest issue is the trees and the close proximity to them.
If there is another point for you to mount an antenna, further or away
from the trees, that would help. A new, larger antenna might help as
well but not as much as getting away from those trees......
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Aug-2017, 12:05 PM   #4
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,842
Joe is correct.

If the problem is due to the growth of the tree(s), then that is what needs to be addressed by either moving the antenna or moving the tree (some selective pruning, perhaps). Simply swapping to a different antenna might make a difference once in a while but one usually ends up trading one problem for another only on a temporary basis (until the tree grows more).
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Aug-2017, 12:25 PM   #5
mogulman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
In general, is the antenna a good one for my distance, assuming I can move the antenna? I may just be willing to live with the tree, as we also stream a lot of media, and reception is ok during the fall, winter and non-rainy days. It has been unusually rainy this summer.
mogulman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Aug-2017, 1:43 PM   #6
rickbb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 275
Assuming you could find a spot on your property that would give you line of site without the tree, then yes it's a good antenna for your plot/expectations.

However as has been said, you would likely trade a tree problem for a different problem like longer cabling and need a amp which has it's own problems. If you find a better spot, then the cabling may have to be completely re-done.

It's up to you as to what you are willing to go through to get better rainy day reception. Different location on the roof with a tripod mount? Put a tower in the yard? Put a mast in the tree? And so on, the list is endless.
rickbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Aug-2017, 2:28 PM   #7
mogulman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
ok...I looked again.. The antenna is actually pointing between two trees. I think I can clear some branches between, so there are no leaves at the level of the antenna, without it looking too funky. I'll have to wait until the roof dries.

I don't think I want to move the spot too much from where the antenna is mounted.

Any use in trying a larger antenna also, after I cut the branches? not sure what the next step up would be, or if anything else would fit in this area. More than likely I would probably need 2 steps up to really notice anything.

Attached a pic of where it is currently located.

There is one item that is making the situation worse, too. One of the stations in the Denver area, Channel 20, 20.1. I think they are having problems with their transmitter for the last month. There is nothing on their web page, but I messaged them on facebook. They said it is operating in low power mode until they can get the transmitter fixed.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg antenna.jpg (385.1 KB, 79 views)
mogulman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Aug-2017, 3:28 PM   #8
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,842
We would need to see the view that the antenna "sees". That is, a photo from directly in front of or behind in the aiming direction.

If channel 20 is busted, you'll probably need to wait for them to repair it. See https://enterpriseefiling.fcc.gov/da...5d3da2033a05ed
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Aug-2017, 10:11 PM   #9
mogulman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks for the info from the FCC.. I guess I didn't think to check on the FCC. How did you find that?
mogulman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Aug-2017, 12:05 AM   #10
Billiam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 380
I've got the very same problem at my home. Trees and taller building surround it. I resolved the very same issues that you mention by using a stronger antenna and a rotor. Now I rarely have any dropouts on my weakest signals. Also use a pre amp which has helped greatly despite the fact I am in a strong signal area. Signals are so weak at my location that the pre amp apparently is not overloading at all. Just make sure if you use a pre amp that you buy one that is less prone to overloading in strong signal areas.
Billiam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 5:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC