TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-Sep-2016, 11:08 PM   #1
jimmylittleman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
OTA HDMI issues

Hi,
I use an OTA system that works just fine (and free) my problem is I would like to transfer some recorded programming from the DVR hard drive to a DVD disc. The DVR operates on HDMI-2 - the DVD player/recorder operates on HDMI -1 - so I have been unable to make this work - I see that there are all kinds of HDMI splitters on Amazon but I cannot figure out what I need or if this will even work. Any ideas??

tx
jimmylittleman
jimmylittleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Sep-2016, 3:13 AM   #2
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,050
Copy protection might be preventing the HDMI handshake. A splitter that might work is here:

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/25-hdt...dcp-error.html
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Sep-2016, 12:50 PM   #3
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,746
Quote:
the DVD player/recorder operates on HDMI -1 -
The HDMI port on that device is probably only able to be used as an output, not an input.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Sep-2016, 2:04 PM   #4
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,050
Quote:
The HDMI port on that device is probably only able to be used as an output, not an input.
That certainly is possible.

Jimmy:

What is the make and model of the recorder, and what INPUTS does it have?

Jimmy's previous thread:
DVR to DVD
http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=15829

misc background info
Quote:
Antenna - Winegard HD8200U - about 40' above ground level on roof
Pre-AMP - Winegard Chromstar 2000 AP8275
TV - LG 47LV4400-UA
DVR (recently added) Channel Master CM7000PAL
weather out here (Wa State) has gotten clear and cold
I am on the fringes of reception from the Seattle metro area
I get all the channels from the Seattle metro area (KOMO 4 King 5 Kiro 7, 11, KCPQ 13) - unless we are having really bad weather.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 24-Sep-2016 at 2:53 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Sep-2016, 7:36 PM   #5
rickbb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 257
A lot of DVR and other recording devices have been manufactured to deliberately make transferring, (ripping) of recordings difficult if not impossible.

This is done due to pressure from the RIAA, (Record Industry Association of America). An organization that generates lots of lawsuits, media coverage (and income) over what and how things can be recorded.

One way around this is to make your own. I use a Hauppauge TV tuner card in a Windows 7 PC for my DVR. Using Windows Media Center to record and convert the recorded files into a format that can be used in my burner software to do what I like with it.

I've been able to put about 50 episodes of Thomas The Train on tablets for my grandchildren this way. Works great.
rickbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Sep-2016, 7:36 PM   #6
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,680
Like rickbb, I use a tuner and computer... my system uses SiliconDust tuners and a Linux OS computer. The recordings are just files... MPEG 1/2 format as they come off the air.

http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=820

I also have started using a model HDTC-2US (SiliconDust) which has the hardware to transcode to lower bit rates. This makes my tablet a functional TV and with VPN connectivity and adequate bandwidth, I can remote into the tuner via the Internet.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 6:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC