TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-Aug-2015, 11:48 PM   #1
olnick
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
loss of stations on Master bedroom set

My Living room " Visio" tv gets 24 channels with my antenna pointed to Boston from Milford NH. I just finished running the cable (wire approx 35 feet) up to the master bedroom. This has a " Magnavox" I only get 4 channels?? I do have a mast mounted amplifier, this helped in getting the 24 channels downstairs. With the splitter installed -3.5 DB /port (2) I still get the 24 channels on the "Vizio"?
I do have a Winegard DA-1036 distribution amp. Would this help or hinder my attempt at the additional channels for the bedroom??
Are there other better options to help me gain the additional channels I have lost in 35 feet of wire??


Thanks


olnick
olnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Aug-2015, 12:06 AM   #2
Jake V
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Virginia!
Posts: 329
It is quite possible that the splitter gives your bedroom television sufficient power on only 4 channels. Please post your TV Fool report so that we can see if you have enough signal to drive two televisions without an amplifier.

First, I'd check all your connections to the bedroom television.

Then I'd probably try your Winegard DA-1036 distribution amp since you already have it.

Or, I'd probably cry the bedroom television down to the living room and connect it there. If it gets 24 channels then you know that there is signal loss getting to the bedroom television.
Jake V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Aug-2015, 2:01 PM   #3
rickbb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 338
What did the living room get without the pre-amp?

If you are barely getting enough signal with the pre-amp it is possible that 35 feet of cable could be losing enough, or introducing enough noise to drop channels. Check the cable you added, make sure isn't damaged or have a bad connection.

If you switch the TV's does the problem stay in the bedroom or move with that TV? Could be that it just has a crappy tuner.

If it is the bedroom run and the line and connections check out ok maybe the distribution amp would be better than the splitter.
rickbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Aug-2015, 2:29 PM   #4
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,942
The Winegard DA-1036 is an old, long discontinued 37 dB gain distribution amp. Using it behind an already amplified antenna system is probably ill-advised, especially when the current system and the reception environment are all completely not disclosed.

35' of coax and a 2-port splitter should amount to about 6 dB of insertion loss. If that is causing your loss of performance in the bedroom, there are other issues involved.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.

Last edited by ADTech; 28-Aug-2015 at 2:34 PM.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Aug-2015, 9:46 PM   #5
olnick
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...8e0319e929e9cc
Thanks guys for all the input...The above link is my radar listing
I have the antenna pointed 162 deg (south to Boston) this is a list of the channels I get downstairs.
5-1,2
7-1,2
9-1,2
11-1,2,3,4
21-1,2,3,4,5,6
27-1,2
60-1,2
66-1,2,3,4

The upstairs list (short)
9-1,2
60-1,2

Question on ADTech's comment? What other issues should I be looking for??

I plan to remove the splitter and connect upstairs directly to the amp output to see what I get.
I'll post results after the test!

Thanks for the help and direction...

Olnick

Last edited by olnick; 29-Aug-2015 at 10:31 PM. Reason: had the wrong # of deg of the ant
olnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Aug-2015, 10:22 PM   #6
olnick
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
Test results!
With the direct connect to upstairs I now get 16 channels!
7-1,2
9-1,2
11-1,2,3,4
27-1,2
60-1,2
66-1,2,3,4

Any recommendations after the test?? Is there a better amp than the DA-1036 I have that would do a better job? or is there another simple solution that I have not come across??

The antenna amp I am using is an RCA TVPRAMP1R It is mounted at the antenna.


Thanks

Olnick
olnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Aug-2015, 12:34 AM   #7
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,709
Quote:
I have the antenna pointed 142 deg (south to Boston)
Boston is 162 degrees magnetic.

What antenna are you using?

Do either of your TVs have a signal strength indicator to find out how weak a signal can be and still be received? Do you still have the Sadelco meter?
http://www.nitehawk.com/k6jey/MiniMaxManual.pdf

I agree with ADTech; something isn't right if you need both amps.
Where do you have the gain control set on the Winegard DA-1036 distribution amp?
http://starkelectronic.com/win1036.htm

WHDH NBC, virtual channel 7.1, real channel 42 is your weakest channel in the series. If you are getting it on the upstairs set, you should be getting the same channels as on the downstairs set.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 29-Aug-2015 at 1:28 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Aug-2015, 11:49 AM   #8
olnick
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
Thanks for the typo correction of 162 deg.!
Ant is an RCA3036W? (from memory)
No indicators on either tv/ However I do still have the Sadelco meter.
The DA-1036 is NOT currently being used.
7.1 comes and goes upstairs is steady on downstairs.


Thanks

Olnick
olnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Aug-2015, 5:52 PM   #9
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,709
Quote:
7.1 comes and goes upstairs is steady on downstairs.
Sounds like that difference is caused by the coax loss for upstairs. Try replacing the splitter with a Channel Master 3412 distribution amp, and rescan for channels on the upstairs TV.

Quote:
However I do still have the Sadelco meter.
Try to make some signal level measurements with it. I have a Sadelco DisplayMax 800 that doesn't measure below -20 dBmV, so I put a preamp before it when measuring weak signals. Sometimes I use a CM3410 which gives me 15 dB gain and sometimes I use a CM7777 (old model) that gives me 25 dB gain. I subtract the gain from the meter reading to get the signal strength.

Most tuners will drop out around -85 dBm which is equal to -36.2 dBmV. Your tvfool report gives signal power in dBm, but your meter reads in dBmV. The conversion factor is 48.8 to convert from one to the other. To make a quick mental conversion I use 50.

My latest Sony KDL32R400A has a diagnostics screen that gives signal strength, SNR, and errors. I made a calibration chart using my Sadelco meter with a variable attenuator and a splitter feeding the TV and the meter at the same time using OTA signals. What's really neat is that the signal strength scale had one dB steps.



My first Sony KDL22L5000 also gives readings, but over a smaller range.



The meter on the left is a Sadelco 719E that I bought when I retired in 1988. It is designed to measure analog signals, but is entirely satisfactory to make relative measurements of digital signals. The meter on the right is a DisplayMax 800 that I bought after the conversion from analog to digital.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg SSCHART KDL32R400A.JPG (118.4 KB, 858 views)
File Type: jpg SONYSSVSdBmVchart2.jpg (150.2 KB, 850 views)
File Type: jpg 2SLMs.jpg (52.3 KB, 7519 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 29-Aug-2015 at 6:45 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Aug-2015, 10:34 PM   #10
olnick
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
Thanks rabbit73!
I just ordered an amp from Amazon.
My Min/Max gave me two readings: ch 9 -2 DB and ch 60 -18 DB I got no other readings at all! I'll re post after I get my amp installed/ up and running
olnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Sep-2015, 12:21 AM   #11
olnick
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
Finally got the Amp today!!
I have lost some channels down stairs now at 18 vs. 24.
However I now have the same 18 up stairs.
About 1/2 of them are so pixilated that they are not watchable!

up and down channels:

7.1,2
9.1,2
21.1,2,3,4,5,6
27.1,2
60.1,2
66.1,2,3,4

DB readings:

CH. reading

6 -17
9 +9.3
11 -8.3
18 -19
19 -19
20 -17
34 -1
42 -14
60 -8.5
61 -12

Any ideas where the other channels went??? Why are they now pixelated???

Thanks

Olnick
olnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Sep-2015, 1:34 AM   #12
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,709
Quote:
Finally got the Amp today!!
What amp did you order, a 3412 to replace the splitter, or an amp to put before your Sadelco meter because it doesn't read below -20 dBmV?

Are you still using the RCA TVPRAMP1R at the antenna?

I think you need to tell us what is connected to what for those readings.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 7-Sep-2015 at 1:47 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Sep-2015, 2:15 PM   #13
olnick
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
I did get a 3412 amp to replace the splitter, this did allow me to get the additional readings on my Min/Max meter.
I still have the TVpramp1R in place at the antenna
The readings are at the upstairs wall plate F connector

I also located my Sadelco 600B digital meter!!! this has a low signal setting that goes to -35 DB. I hope the batteries take a charge? Its been years since I've used it?

Olnick
olnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Sep-2015, 11:28 PM   #14
olnick
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
I got the 600B up and running! (new batteries!)
Now at the entry into the house with only the RCA TVPRAMP1R feeding the Sadelco meter these are the latest results:

Ch Db

2 -31
3 -29
4 -32
5 -30
6 -27
7 -15 to >-35 db
9 +1
11 -18
18 -30
19 -30
20 -28
27 -28
33 -30
34 -14
42 -27
57 -30
58 -30
59 -30
60 -18
61 -22


Is there anything else I should be checking?? The DB readings were NOT steady and changed 2,3,4 DB per reading?
Would it be worth my effort to get up on the roof and check the readings without the TVPRAMP1R in place to see what the antenna is doing on its own? I did manage to get additional ch's after I installed the TVPRAMP1R.

I do appreciate all the help in pointing me in the correct direction....

Thanks

Olnick
olnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Sep-2015, 12:32 AM   #15
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,709
Those readings are lower than they should be with a preamp; too many in the very weak category. How do the readings compare with the two meters using signals that are strong enough for the Minimax-M?

Those readings do match the ones in post #11 allowing for the gain of the 3412.

Is this the test setup?

Ant > preamp > coax > grounding block > power inserter > meter

Those readings are dBmV, right?

A reading of -32 dBmV is equal to -81 dBm. Tuners drop out about -85 dBm. That's too close to dropout.

Quote:
The DB readings were NOT steady and changed 2,3,4 DB per reading?
That's normal; OTA signals are constantly changing in strength.

After looking at your tvfool report, something is still wrong. Unless something is blocking the signals on the way to the antenna, you have a problem with the antenna, preamp, coax downlead, or grounding block.
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...8e0319e929e9cc

unless the report is wrong.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg CATJ SIGNAL LEVELS (2).jpg (182.3 KB, 308 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 8-Sep-2015 at 1:03 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Sep-2015, 12:24 AM   #16
olnick
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
You are correct in all your statements! As to the test set up.

On Wednesday I plan to pull the antenna down, check all the connections for water entry Etc. I will do a sig strength reading from the antenna down as I replace the pieces back into the circuit.

Thanks

Olnick
olnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Sep-2015, 12:55 PM   #17
olnick
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
Today I did a "baseline" scan of the channels:I now have 30 watchable channels with NO pixelation on any of them!!?????

What is going on?????
Other than taking the signal strength in the last couple of days I have done NOTHING to the system!

2-1,2
4-1,2
5-1,2
7-1,2
9-1,2
11-1,2,3,4
21-1,2,3,4,5,6
60-1,2
62-1,2,3
66-1,2,3,4

With another 90 Deg day I'm not going to do anything with the ant today, I will check the signal strength later on.

Thanks


Olnick
olnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Sep-2015, 2:24 PM   #18
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,709
Quote:
What is going on?????
Sounds like an intermittent connection; they are difficult to find.

What are the readings when the reception is that good; are they now higher?
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Sep-2015, 2:30 PM   #19
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,942
The -2, -3, etc sub-channels are irrelevant, both for channel counts and for diagnostic purposes. Skip them, focus ONLY on the STATIONS, preferably by call letters.

How about taking a photo of the antenna from behind which will show what it's facing into? A forest, a big tree, point-blank into a building, an open field, etc...
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Sep-2015, 2:37 PM   #20
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,709
Quote:
The -2, -3, etc sub-channels are irrelevant, both for channel counts and for diagnostic purposes. Skip them, focus ONLY on the STATIONS, preferably by call letters.
Yeah, that would make it easier. He has been using virtual numbers as near as I can tell by guessing, but he has to enter the real RF channel number into his SLMs. Good chance for a mix up there.

Anyway, the dBmV readings in post #14 are way too low for after the preamp, and they agree with the readings in post #11 w/3412 amp added and the other SLM.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 9-Sep-2015 at 3:59 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 5:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC