TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Antennas

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 1-Mar-2011, 10:52 PM   #1
rickcain
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 65
What about AM reception?

What does a large AM radio antenna look like and would it be okay to have one in your attic? How do you even wire one up?
My $500 receiver just doesn't do well with that toy plastic wire loop they provide with it.

Thanks,
rickcain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Mar-2011, 11:25 PM   #2
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,770
If your receiver has binding post terminals, AM & GND, try connecting the GND to a cold water pipe and running a single wire to the AM terminal.

At 1000 KHz, a 1/4 wave will be 75 meters (multiplied by a velocity factor of .75 to .95), so you will be hard pessed to make the wire too long... experiment with placement and length to see if you pickup more signal or more noise...

A bit more sophisticated... make your own loop from about a 1/2 wave length of insulated wire. (about 150 meters * 0.75). Plastic plumbing parts can be used to make a frame... Google "crystal radio" to start a search for dimensioned plans. Here is a Example Link
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')

Last edited by GroundUrMast; 1-Mar-2011 at 11:37 PM.
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Mar-2011, 5:28 AM   #3
John Candle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,697
Antennas

There is way to much information on the internet about AM radio antennas.
John Candle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Mar-2011, 5:51 PM   #4
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,770
"The Good Old Days" meets art...
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jan-2013, 6:58 PM   #5
rickcain
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 65
This IS the internet, John. (grin)

Anyway I obviously shelved the AM antenna project for a year, but I'm still gonna try it, I just need to find a spool of wire 75 meters long.
rickcain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Antennas


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC