TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 19-Apr-2012, 1:57 PM   #1
tsiyon

Seeking Equipment Recommendation

Thank you in advance. I am new to this and I hope I've researched enough not to sound like a fool...

Here is my TVFool coverage map: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...d5bcbb68507094

It seems to be a fairly straightforward situation. However, while my immediate goal is to get the Milwaukee stations, my secondary goal would be to get my geek on and try for the Chicago and Madison stations - if for no other reason than to say I can do it!

Other info:
* 1 Toshiba 37HL67 TV, which has ATSC and QAM tuners
* 1 Pioneer Elite PRO-507PU TV, which I have been unable to find information on (no manual)
* DirectTV mast ~10' off the ground with ~50-60' run to distribution point
* DirectTV dish secured with a J mount
* Attic area ~20' off the ground with ~30-40' run to distribution point
* 1 PCT International PCT-MA-B1010-IP multimedia drop amplifier (installed by cable provider - not currently in use)
* 1 SWiM MSPLIT4R1-03 4-way splitter (installed by DirectTV - in use)
* LOS from DirectTV dish location to NE is blocked by the roofline - would need to extend mast ~10' (total height ~20')
* Tri-level house - primary TV (Pioneer) is located on a level of the house that is 1/2 underground
* Expense is not a hinderance (within reason), considering I'm paying $100/mo for DirectTV right now - I'm all about ROI
* Attic space allows for ~30" height and ~45" turning radius from the center point, although the height tapers off starting ~24" from center
* I am fairly technically adept and mechanically inclined (Electrical Engineer turned Software Programmer turned Project Manager - would love to do something hands-on again for a change)

Questions: