TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-Jun-2018, 9:44 PM   #41
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagwood View Post
This is all news to me, when is it supposed to happen?
The FCC took away UHF channels 38 to 51 from TV broadcasters and gave them to the cellular companies. The TV stations had the choice of moving to a different UHF channel (14 to 36), a VHF-High channel (7 to 13), a VHF-Low channel (2-6), or going off the air. They did get paid to do it, but they weren't happy that the cellular companies had taken their channels.

The Rochester channels will change during the period of 6/22/2019 to 8/2/2019
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 22-Jun-2018 at 9:48 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jun-2018, 11:19 PM   #42
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagwood View Post
Not quite getting that last image. Where is Rochester and/or the transmitter?
The transmitter is at the center of the pattern:







Attached Images
File Type: jpg DagwoodTVFantPatternWUHFrev.jpg (44.5 KB, 315 views)
File Type: jpg DagwoodTVFcovLR-WUHF.JPG (197.0 KB, 310 views)
File Type: jpg DagwoodTVFsatMapWUHF.JPG (210.6 KB, 315 views)
File Type: jpg DagwoodTVFtowerWUHF.JPG (204.4 KB, 309 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 23-Jun-2018 at 12:17 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jun-2018, 11:22 PM   #43
Dagwood
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NYS, Finger Lakes area
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
The FCC took away UHF channels 38 to 51 from TV broadcasters and gave them to the cellular companies. The TV stations had the choice of moving to a different UHF channel (14 to 36), a VHF-High channel (7 to 13), a VHF-Low channel (2-6), or going off the air. They did get paid to do it, but they weren't happy that the cellular companies had taken their channels.

The Rochester channels will change during the period of 6/22/2019 to 8/2/2019
Wow, no kidding. This is the first I've heard of it.

I do see that it is a year away, so that's probably why I've heard nothing on TV about it yet.

Will any of this make any of my channels better or worse?
Dagwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Jun-2018, 12:31 AM   #44
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagwood View Post
Wow, no kidding. This is the first I've heard of it.

I do see that it is a year away, so that's probably why I've heard nothing on TV about it yet.
You can read about Repack here:
https://www.nab.org/repacking/

https://www.antennaweb.org/Info/FccRepackInfo

https://www.fcc.gov/about-fcc/fcc-in...ntive-auctions

Quote:
Will any of this make any of my channels better or worse?
Too soon to know; time will tell.

I don't see any proposed changes for WUHF Fox:
https://www.rabbitears.info/tvq.php?...tems&facid=413

It looks like WROC CBS will be sending less power in your direction on channel 21:
https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=WROC
click on Technical Data

https://www.rabbitears.info/tvq.php?...ms&facid=73964

If you send me the exact coordinates of your antenna in a PM (Private Message), I can draw a terrain profile for the signal paths.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 23-Jun-2018 at 12:58 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Jun-2018, 2:24 AM   #45
Dagwood
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NYS, Finger Lakes area
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
You can read about Repack here:
https://www.nab.org/repacking/

https://www.antennaweb.org/Info/FccRepackInfo

https://www.fcc.gov/about-fcc/fcc-in...ntive-auctions



Too soon to know; time will tell.

I don't see any proposed changes for WUHF Fox:
https://www.rabbitears.info/tvq.php?...tems&facid=413

It looks like WROC CBS will be sending less power in your direction on channel 21:
https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=WROC
click on Technical Data

https://www.rabbitears.info/tvq.php?...ms&facid=73964

If you send me the exact coordinates of your antenna in a PM (Private Message), I can draw a terrain profile for the signal paths.
How do I do that?
Dagwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Jun-2018, 5:33 PM   #46
Nascarken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 244
Hello there Rabbit sounds like someone is maybe turning off a light switch that is
Powering up the amp??funny thing just like that can happen to maybe his wife
Wonted him too go to bed.lol!!
Nascarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Jun-2018, 3:51 AM   #47
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagwood View Post
How do I do that?
Correct me if I am wrong, but I assume you know how to send the coordinates to me in a PM (a forum Private Message) to me, so you must mean how to determine the coordinates of your antenna.

If you don't have a GPS, you can use the TVFool Interactive map browser.

http://www.tvfool.com/index.php?opti...pper&Itemid=90



Once you have found your home, you can move the teardrop indicator to the location of the antenna by drag-and-drop. As you move the teardrop, the coordinates below the map will follow.



Move the white fist to the base of the teardrop until the index finger points to the base of the teardrop.
Left click the mouse and hold it down.
Move the indicator to the antenna location and release the left click.
The coordinates of the antenna will be below the map; copy and paste them.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DagwoodTVFmapFinger.jpg (134.4 KB, 267 views)
File Type: jpg DagwoodTVFmapExample2.jpg (161.8 KB, 264 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 24-Jun-2018 at 4:19 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Jun-2018, 4:04 AM   #48
Dagwood
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NYS, Finger Lakes area
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
Correct me if I am wrong, but I assume you know how to send a PM (a forum Private Message) to me, so you must mean how to determine the coordinates of your antenna.

If you don't have a GPS, you can use the TVFool Interactive map browser.

http://www.tvfool.com/index.php?opti...pper&Itemid=90



Once you have found your home, you can move the teardrop indicator to the location of the antenna by drag-and-drop. As you move the teardrop, the coordinates below the map will follow.
I just ran through it and now that I see it, I know I've done it before -- maybe last winter. At any rate, I will PM you the link.
Dagwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Jun-2018, 4:22 AM   #49
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,286
I edited the image, so there is a blank in your quote.

Thank you. I will work on it tomorrow.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Jun-2018, 4:30 AM   #50
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,286
I do not see the coordinates in the PM, just a TVFool report.

The coordinates would look something like this:

42.759854, -77.443830

They would be below the map after the indicator is at the antenna location.

What you did was create a Radar plot using the button at the upper right corner of the map.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 24-Jun-2018 at 4:33 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Jun-2018, 5:33 PM   #51
Dagwood
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NYS, Finger Lakes area
Posts: 48
Rabbit, I'm totally lost. I went to the link in post #47, used the alternate method there because I don't have a very high speed connection, and sent you the results.

Everything you've written after that leaves me clueless, including the rest of post 47 below the link.
Dagwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Jun-2018, 9:25 PM   #52
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,286
Locations on a map are given using longitude and latitude coordinates.

If you are not able to give me the coordinates for your antenna location, an address, or an X on a map showing where you are in a PM, I will not be able to do an accurate terrain profile. Sorry.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 24-Jun-2018 at 9:28 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Jun-2018, 8:15 PM   #53
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,286
Thank you for the additional information by PM. This profile shows that the WUHF and other Rochester signals have a hard time getting to your antenna because of the hill that blocks a direct signal path.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg DagwoodTVFp2WUHF.JPG (125.3 KB, 238 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 27-Jun-2018 at 8:17 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Jun-2018, 12:38 AM   #54
Nascarken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 244
Antnna&signal ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
Thank you for the additional information by PM. This profile shows that the WUHF and other Rochester signals have a hard time getting to your antenna because of the hill that blocks a direct signal path.

Looks like It's up with the ANTENNA maybe 40ft
Put it into the tv Fool report and see what you
Wined up with and set the ANTENNA on a 45/90AGL/DgAGL?
For that one channel i have looked into the tv Fool have
Playing with it by antennas higth by adding ft and pled
With the AGO frum,0,,to a 45DG,AGL.,too,a90 DGAGL?
What a BIG!! Improvement like a 1000+% so know!!
RAIBBIT.what does AGL,stand for does it stand for?DG,AGL?
On the tv Fool report? And you should move the ANTENNA too the
Left about 3.1/2 ft over TOO the left look at the picture of the tree's over the roof and
Where the ANTENNA is sitting know it's pointing right into the tree.?look ??

Last edited by Nascarken; 28-Jun-2018 at 12:55 AM.
Nascarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Jun-2018, 2:21 PM   #55
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascarken View Post
Looks like It's up with the ANTENNA maybe 40ft
Put it into the tv Fool report and see what you
Wined up with and set the ANTENNA on a 45/90AGL/DgAGL?
For that one channel i have looked into the tv Fool have
Playing with it by antennas higth by adding ft and pled
With the AGO frum,0,,to a 45DG,AGL.,too,a90 DGAGL?
What a BIG!! Improvement like a 1000+% so know!!
RAIBBIT.what does AGL,stand for does it stand for?DG,AGL?
On the tv Fool report? And you should move the ANTENNA too the
Left about 3.1/2 ft over TOO the left look at the picture of the tree's over the roof and
Where the ANTENNA is sitting know it's pointing right into the tree.?look ??
Thank goodness we have NASCARKEN to provide such insightfull
and knowledgeable content!
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Jun-2018, 7:07 PM   #56
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,076
AGL=Above Ground Level
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Jun-2018, 7:30 PM   #57
Nascarken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 244
Agl???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tower Guy View Post
AGL=Above Ground Level
Ok tower Gug!! AGL stands for Above ground level?
I think you are wrong becuse iT's after antennas higth of ft And then
ANTENNAs AGL of ANTENNA becuse on some ANTENNAs you can adjust the Agl
Frum 0,too a 35AGL,I know that the ANTENNA Direct 91xg,you can
Do that ? And their is an ANTENNA manufactures that sells stuff too
Put your antennas on a AGL.?
Nascarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Jun-2018, 12:34 AM   #58
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascarken View Post
RAIBBIT.what does AGL,stand for does it stand for?DG,AGL?
This is for AGL:



This is for DG,AGL = Degrees Angle:

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Antenna Tower2.JPG (55.3 KB, 180 views)
File Type: jpg HDB91XtiltadjRev2.jpg (67.2 KB, 176 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 30-Jun-2018 at 12:36 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Jun-2018, 1:21 PM   #59
Nascarken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
This is for AGL:



This is for DG,AGL = Degrees Angle:

Ok thank you Ribbit for the good information
happy,4of July to you and your family.
And everyone else on tv fool form.

Last edited by Nascarken; 30-Jun-2018 at 1:26 PM.
Nascarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Jun-2018, 6:51 PM   #60
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascarken View Post
Ok tower Gug!! AGL stands for Above ground level?
I think you are wrong becuse?
The FCC uses AGL to describe the height of the transmit antenna on a TV tower.
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 7:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC