TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 7-Nov-2014, 12:28 PM   #1
n8dogg59

Help With Antenna Selection Please

Hi everyone. I'm new to antennas and have done a good amount of research but still don't know very much. I've read around and looked at tons of posts but couldn't find a signal and question similar to mine so wanted to ask you experts in a thread.

Pretty much everyone is looking to get as many channels as possible. My goal is to cancel the cable, get CBS, FOX, NBC, and ABC, and save as much money as possible which means a cheap antenna. I'd like get the cheapest indoor antenna possible that would allow me to watch the 4 main stations. Do you think the mofu leaf or the mohu leaf 50 would work for me? Is there a better inexpensive indoor antenna that would work? Thank you in advance for the help.

The window/wall the TV is on faces east.
Here's my report http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...d243e7bf62612d
n8dogg59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Nov-2014, 12:46 PM   #2
timgr

Where do you want to site the antenna? What is between that site and the stations - trees, concrete wall, another building? Can you point the antenna at the transmitters (ie due north?)

One possibility is to go to Walmart and pick up a pair of rabbit ears today. Connect them to your TV and see what you get. If they don't work out, you can take them back and get a better antenna either at Walmart or elsewhere - http://www.walmart.com/c/kp/indoor-antennas

Last edited by timgr; 7-Nov-2014 at 12:53 PM.
timgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Nov-2014, 12:54 PM   #3
n8dogg59

Hi timgr. Thanks for the quick reply. There's pretty much open land all around the house other than short bushes and shrubs. It's a single story house in a spread out subdivision. The side of the house that faces north would not work for a TV, it's the kitchen, bathroom and a guest room. Really the only wall to put a TV on is the wall that faces east.