TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 31-Mar-2012, 2:57 AM   #1
GAR99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Antenna choice for Central Oregon

Can someone recommend an outdoor antenna for me? I live near Terrebonne, Oregon 97760.
Here is a link to the results of my TV signal analysis: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...0b86c16616d9f1


Thanks for your help.
GAR99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Mar-2012, 3:41 AM   #2
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
A roof mounted Winegard HD7694P aimed south should provide the major networks.

If feeding one or two tuners, and the cable runs are not too long (50' or less), an amplifier should not be needed.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Mar-2012, 3:45 AM   #3
GAR99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Thank you!

I'm new to antennas. Do I need to buy a coaxial cable that will connect to the antenna and the tv? And is that all I need (except for a mast)?
GAR99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Mar-2012, 5:10 AM   #4
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv antennas and Tv reception

Install a Winegard HD7696P antenna above the roof aimed at about 160 degree magnetic compass. Here is how to aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html. Here are some roof top antenna mounts , http://www.ronard.com/909911.html , http://www.ronard.com/34424560.html , http://www.ronard.com/ychim.html , http://www.ronard.com. Buy the ronard mounts at solidsignal by typing the word ronard in the solidsignal search box. Here are some places to buy antennas and etc. , http://www.solidsignal.com , http://www.winegarddirect.com , http://www.amazon.com. Use RG-6 coax , there is nothing special about RG-6 coax , it is every where. If one tv is connected use no splitter , if two tv's are connected use a 2 way splitter and etc. . A fancy $50.00 splitter is not required. A plain simple common splitter will be Ok.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Mar-2012, 5:17 AM   #5
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv antennas and Tv reception

The Tv/s Must Scan for the Digital Broadcast Tv Channels sometimes called the 'Air Channels' or 'Antenna Channels' in the Tv menu because the tv transmissions travel through the air from the transmitting antenna to your receiving antenna. Do Not scan for cable tv channels.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Mar-2012, 2:06 PM   #6
GAR99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Thank you.

A couple more questions:

1. The TV I will be using will be brought from my home to my vacation home. It currently is hooked up to DISH satelitte. By hooking it up to an antenna, will that mess up my DISH satelitte configuration when I take it back home? We only visit our vacation place 4 times a year so buying a new TV doesn't make sense.

2. I assume that once I get the antenna and TV hooked up to the cable the TV will automatically scan for channels? So I won't need any other device?

I appreciate all your help.
GAR99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Mar-2012, 2:38 PM   #7
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv antennas and Tv reception

The tv is connected to dish receiver with wires , when the wires are unpluged , why would that mess up the dish?? The Tv Must Scan for the Digital Broadcast Tv Channels if it is a newer TV.

Last edited by Electron; 31-Mar-2012 at 11:06 PM.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Mar-2012, 2:41 PM   #8
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv antennas and Tv reception

What is the make and model number of the Tv??
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Mar-2012, 2:43 PM   #9
GAR99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Yes, it's a newer TV. Samsung p2370hd, 27" bought at Costco about 1 year ago.
GAR99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Mar-2012, 11:04 PM   #10
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv antennas and Tv reception

Yes the tv will scan for the Digital broadcast Tv Channels.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Mar-2012, 11:49 PM   #11
GAR99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Excellent. Thanks very much for your help.
GAR99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC