TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-Nov-2011, 2:44 PM   #1
Brian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
help with reception-Atlanta

I have tried several different antennas and they all seem to limit the reception. I can't get wxia. I can get abc, cbs, and fox. The latest antenna is the hbu33. It is connected directly to the tuner with a inline amp. If I remove the amp, I get no channels. I have the antenna pointed to 155degrees. Any suggestions?

http://WWW.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...ec1226d23513c4

thanks
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Nov-2011, 5:12 PM   #2
Dave Loudin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 659
Ah. Good that you used the map tool. You need to redo it, though, and select the "make radar plot" to actually create a report that can be shared. Post the URL of that report.
Dave Loudin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Nov-2011, 5:48 PM   #3
Brian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Sorry. Try this.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...ec1296d1ec843c
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Nov-2011, 6:06 PM   #4
Brian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
I just dropped cable and new to all of this. I quess I should have worked all the bugs out before dropping. My wife wants the the parades for Thanksgiving. I haven't attached the antenna yet. I started with a Phillips SDV8622T/27 I purchased at Walmart. I thought I could hang on the side of the house and be done. I have a good line of sight from outside the second story window. I was able to recieve 21 channels the first time, but no NBC(WXIA). That only lasted a day and now I only get about 5-9 channels depending on the time of day. I purchased the HBU33 from Radio Shack and rescanned and same results. I was able to get back to 21 channels for awhile, but still no NBC. I still have both antennas. I am waiting to see what the experts think before I return anything. (You are the expert!)

Also, if I stay with the HBU33, can I install it in the attic? I really don't want to get on the roof. Are the stations close enought for this antenna to pick them up in the attic.

Thanks for your help.
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Nov-2011, 6:54 PM   #5
Jammer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
HBU33 is the better antenna.

Be sure you have it pointed to the southeast. The narrow end (with the smaller rods) is the part that should point southeast.

I would guess that part of the problem is that WATC is so close it's soaking the receiver. A properly pointed directional antenna should help with that.

Hard to tell on how you'll do in the attic. Maybe someone more knowledgeable will come along and comment. It might help to re-run the signal analysis with the height set to your attic height as often just 10 feet of elevation can make a huge difference.
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Nov-2011, 7:15 PM   #6
Brian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...ec128152ef5bc9

Here it is at 25ft. Is there a way to stop the "soaking"?
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Nov-2011, 8:18 PM   #7
Jammer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
I guess I would say that you'll be marginal with an attic installation, at least for WXIA. Especially when it rains.
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Nov-2011, 2:14 AM   #8
MisterMe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA Gulf South
Posts: 231
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian View Post
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...ec128152ef5bc9

Here it is at 25ft. Is there a way to stop the "soaking"?
Your problem is not that you are "soaking" the receiver. In fact, I have never heard of such a thing. You are in an area of strong signal. Despite your strong signals, you installed an amplifier. Your strong signals saturated your amplifier. Remove the amplifier and rescan.
MisterMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Nov-2011, 7:53 PM   #9
Brian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
I checked all the connections. Swapped out the cable and removed the amplifier. 53 channels! The only channel I don't get is the PBS channel. I might try aiming the antenna a little towards that signal. Otherwise, I am very happy. Thanks to everone for the comments and the website owner for having a great resource like this. Goodbye $100 monthly cable bills!
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Jan-2012, 10:54 PM   #10
Brian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Can anyone explain sporadic signal loss? I have been pleased with my ota tv since I switch 6 weeks ago. The only complaint is that channels lose their signal from time to time. Yesterday I lost waga. Fortunately, it kept me from witnessing the Falcons embarrassing loss to the Giants. It isn't the same channels either. I read signals bounce and weather can affect.it as well. just wanted to know if I can do anything to make it better.
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Jan-2012, 2:59 PM   #11
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv antennas and Tv reception

Install a Winegard HD7698P antenna above the roof , aimed at about 150 degree magnetic compass. Here is how to aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html. Remove Any and All parts of the amplifier from the system. Remove the amplifier , remove the amplifier power supply. Here are some roof top antenna mounts , http://www.ronard.com/909911.html , http://www.ronard.com/34424560.html , http://www.ronard.com/ychim.html. http://www.winegarddirect.com , http://www.solidsignal.com , http://www.amazon.com
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Jan-2012, 3:01 PM   #12
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv antennas and Tv reception

How many tv's are/will be connected??
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Jan-2012, 6:02 PM   #13
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
Are you currently using an HBU-33 and is it mounted in the attic or on the roof?

Looking SE, are there trees or buildings blocking the path toward the transmitters?
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Jan-2012, 1:55 AM   #14
Brian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
I'm using the hbu33 in the attic. I have it going to two tv's. I know I will get better reception on the roof, I just don't want to get on the roof. It is about 35 feet off the ground and very steep. Is it normal for channels to.come and go. I just rescanned and still don't get the fox channel waga. It has been raining for a few days and I know that it effects the signal, but why only the one channel. I had fox for about six weeks.
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Jan-2012, 3:29 PM   #15
MisterMe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA Gulf South
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian View Post
I'm using the hbu33 in the attic. I have it going to two tv's. I know I will get better reception on the roof, I just don't want to get on the roof. It is about 35 feet off the ground and very steep. Is it normal for channels to.come and go. I just rescanned and still don't get the fox channel waga. It has been raining for a few days and I know that it effects the signal, but why only the one channel. I had fox for about six weeks.
You don't have to get on the roof. You may use a ground-based mast. If, however, your roof is 35 feet above the ground, then you probably have locations on the side of your home that are 20 feet or more above the ground. Site a J-mounted VHF/UHF antenna on the side of your home with a southeast view. For many homeowners, the extra 10 feet makes a marginal positive difference. In your case, the extra 10 feet may make a dramatic positive difference. If you can mount the antenna at 30 feet or higher, then you can expect no worse than 1-Edge view of all desired transmitters. You may repeat your TV Fool Radar plot with your exact location at 20 feet and 30 feet to confirm my estimates.
MisterMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Jan-2012, 6:40 PM   #16
Brian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Even at 40ft I am at 2EDGE. I would have to add a mast to the chimney. http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...7fb91a913707a4 I am not sure what 2EDGE means, but I believe it is worse than 1EDGE and LOS. (I think it has to do with the number of times it bounces or refracts of other objects) How do you measure the height? My house faces due east and the yard slopes from front to back. My antennae is about 25 feet off the ground from street level, but 40ft from ground level. It probably doesn't matter. I am sure I would get better reception if it was roof mounted even though it might add only 8-10 feet. Right now the signal has to go through the roof tiles. I also have a hill and trees SE of me and I don't think I can get high enough to get LOS.
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 7:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC