TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 17-Feb-2010, 12:37 AM   #1
rob316

Help with NY OTA 11 PIX and 13 PBS

Heys guys I am kind of new to the OTA thing but I have a couple questions. I currently have a Haupaugge 950Q connected to my pc which is great but I am having a couple of issues. I first bough an Rat Shack UHF/VHF antenna with amp well I could only get 2,4,5,9 thats it. So I read that the Terk HDTVA was pretty good in picking up VHF since ABC NY is still on VHF band. So I picked up the Terk and with a little adjusting I was able to pick up cbs, nbc, fox, abc, and channel 9, but for the life of me I cannot pick up 11,13. I went to antennaweb.org site and 11 and 13 point to the same area as cbs, nbc. Any advice or input would be appreciated.

Here are my stats for from TV Fool
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...27ee7250637208
rob316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Feb-2010, 2:47 AM   #2
mtownsend

Hello and welcome!

It looks like you've tried the right things and still have not had complete success on all channels. Unfortunately, that is sometimes the way it is with indoor antenna reception. You can't always tell what is in the walls or other buildings that might be interfering with your reception (pipes, ducts, electrical wiring, wire mesh, insulation with foil backing, transformers, etc.).

With rabbit ears, the optimum reception for high VHF (since you're going after channels 11 and 13) is to have the elements extended about half of their maximum length and laid out fully horizontal (roughly 40" from tip to tip). If you extend the elements out too long, it will actually optimize the antenna toward lower VHF channels.

If this is not enough to help you, then the next thing to try it to move the antenna to the second floor, attic, or whatever you have that allows the signal to be received more directly (passing through fewer walls, trees, neighbors' houses, etc.).