TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-Mar-2011, 7:51 PM   #1
IGeeky1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Confused - please provide help

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...8d172da7d53277

I have my channelmaster rooftop antenna pointed @ 13 degrees magnetic. (about 30' in air)

I get virt channels 3, 55, 5, 8, 25, 43 just fine.
I get 61 on and off but do not get 19 at all. I want 19 it is CBS and has
March Madness on.

I'm wondering if I'm losing due to a bad RG6 connector connection...how would I test other thatn taking my converter box and tv up to roof for a short direct connection?

Other thoughts?

Thanks

Mark
IGeeky1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Mar-2011, 8:32 PM   #2
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by IGeeky1 View Post

I have my channelmaster rooftop antenna pointed @ 13 degrees magnetic. (about 30' in air)
I want 19
WOIO is on real channel 10. That's a VHF channel. Is your Channel Master antenna designed for both VHF and UHF?
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Mar-2011, 8:37 PM   #3
John Candle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,697
TV Antennas and Reception

What is the model number of the Channel Master antenna ??http://www.channelmasterstore.com . How many Tv's connected and with what ?? Any antenna preamps or coax line amps ??
John Candle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Mar-2011, 10:01 PM   #4
IGeeky1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
OK, I have replaced twist-ons with compression fitting. Little change.

I am getting virt 49,17,55,5,8,43

25- CM7000 detects 25.1-25.4 yet I see no visual
34- get sometimes other times not

I feel I should be able to get both 3 and 19.

Antenna is http://www.channelmaster.com/HD_tele...tenna_s/53.htm

Coax RG6 quad cable no amps. Furthest desired channel is 25 miles, antenna rated for 45 and I'm getting some channels in fine with the same distance and signal strength ratings. A single TV

As per channel 10 on VHF - I am getting 8 so I should be good there.

Thanks everyone

Last edited by IGeeky1; 18-Mar-2011 at 10:28 PM.
IGeeky1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Mar-2011, 11:07 PM   #5
John Candle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,697
TV Antennas and Reception

Read and understand this about , Real Digital Tv Channels , Virtual Digital Tv Channels , Analog Tv Channels , http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=695 . Is the CM3010 amplified or nonamplified ??
John Candle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Mar-2011, 11:47 PM   #6
IGeeky1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
no amps either on line or antenna.

After removing splitter from other lines that wern't connectted I did get 19 in. Guess I'm in hte "just barely" zone with my current setup.

Antenna amp would be difficult due to power supply, do line amps contribute much?
IGeeky1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Mar-2011, 12:26 AM   #7
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
Glad to hear you are able to watch B-Ball.

Rather than trying to make a marginal antenna better by adding an amplifier (a 'band-aid' fix).

Consider upgrading to a Winegard HD7694P (or lager in that series). That will give to the additional signal needed to overcome splitter loss, plus you will get an antenna with much better rejection of signals from the sides and rear which will improve the quality of the signal to the set.

The CM-3010 could be re-aimed to 82 if there is programing of interest to you there. An A/B switch would select the desired antenna.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Mar-2011, 1:00 AM   #8
John Candle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,697
TV Antennas and Reception

Even so , is the CM3010 the amplified version or non amplified version. Unpluging a amplified antenna does not make it in to a Nonamplified antenna. Every time a split takes place the signal is reduced. It is best to simplify the coax wiring so that there is Minimum number of splitters. Do Not use amplifiers, use a bigger antenna. Bigger antennas collect more signal. Amplifiers Do Not collect more signal. I suggest a Winegard HD7697P antenna.

Last edited by John Candle; 19-Mar-2011 at 3:41 PM.
John Candle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-Mar-2011, 1:33 AM   #9
IGeeky1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks for the help.

I'm actually pretty content since having removed the uneeded splitter and extra rg6 lines. I will keep the antenna in mind if things change though.

Thanks again.

Mark
IGeeky1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 1:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC