TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-Jul-2014, 11:14 PM   #1
pips
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 20
insulating wire and grounding

ok guys getting stuff together to set up a new system.insurance guy said no way to putting tower up attached to my house trailer as i live on highest peak in my county and lightning strikes are frequent.so we are putting tower 125 from house and i am gonna attach to a oak tree that i topped till i get footers poured for guy wires.sadly i have 2 metal roofs i have to run the wire down then down a metal sided wall and into house.tower is 35 feet.
1.i have 125 feet of coax i gotta run across metal roof and wall.so what kinda wire and is there anything i can run the wire inside of to help shield it?i will be running 2 wires for an a/b switch for 2 sbgh that will be pointed in opposite directions.

2 how do i ground the tower?on houses we use 8 gauge wire with grounding rod and accorn clamp.where do i connect to tower or is there a better way?

3.should i go ahead and preamp both units?

any help appriciated
pips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Jul-2014, 11:23 PM   #2
Jake V
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Virginia!
Posts: 328
It would be very useful to those responding if you would post your TVFool Report.

1. Go to: http://www.tvfool.com/index.php?opti...pper&Itemid=90
2. Enter your address and click "Map this".
3. On the screen that is displayed click "Satellite" at the top right.
4. Move the red balloon cursor and place it over your house. Zoom in to get it perfect.
5. Set the "antenna height" to roughly the height of your antenna.
6. When the screen updates click "Make Radar Plot". Copy that link from your browser and paste it into a new post.
Jake V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Jul-2014, 12:50 AM   #3
pips
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 20
i guess it would b helpful for preamp question
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e1c6731f09574a
pips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Jul-2014, 4:56 AM   #4
pips
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 20
considering running rg6 with quad shielding since the line will be sitting on metal roofing.i really think i should insulate it somehow
pips is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 5:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC