TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-Jun-2015, 8:25 PM   #1
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
no uhf signal

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...82303d950c5bda

I am only receiving VHF stations and no UHF stations. I believe I have the winegard 7084p antenna, but I am not positive I just bought it used. I am receiving fox and cbs which are vhf but not getting nbc and abc which are uhf. I am positive I am scanning for tv instead of cable first thing I checked. I have bypassed the amp and hooked directly into the coupler board and still no uhf channels. I believe my problem is the coupler board and I am ready to order a new one. Before I do this is there anything else I need to check?

Last edited by handaspencer; 24-Jun-2015 at 8:35 PM.
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Jun-2015, 11:48 PM   #2
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,738
Welcome to the forum, handaspencer:


reception problems after installation
http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=13276

video
How To Troubleshoot a Winegard Antenna Cartridge Housing
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TlQke5QYbng

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=cb-8269

http://www.amazon.com/Winegard-CB-82.../dp/B003H2G5ZM

http://www.winegard.com/kbase/uploads/WS-112_LR.pdf
page 10
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 25-Jun-2015 at 12:11 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jun-2015, 12:36 AM   #3
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,942
Check the UHF phasing lines. Make sure that the are not touching the boom or the metal brackets and that they're properly installed in the cartridge.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jun-2015, 1:43 AM   #4
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
thanks for all the tips I have reviewed them. I checked the uhf phasing line and it was correctly installed in box and was not touching metal to metal.
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jun-2015, 1:02 PM   #5
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,942
At least two of your UHF stations *should* be strong enough to be picked up with a paper clip.

Make absolutely certain that the tuner is set to the proper mode and try that and see if you get anything on UHF 41 and 42. If the mode is set correctly and you do get those two stations, then you know you have a cabling or antenna issue. If you still get nothing, the results are inconclusive and further testing is recommended before assuming that there is a specific defective part.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jun-2015, 2:52 PM   #6
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
I do receive those stations when the amp is being used. If I unhook the amp and hook the coax direct to the cartridge board I don't get those stations. That is a good point I am getting uhf 41 and 42 but not uhf 15, 17, 43 and 50. Is this telling me anything? thanks for your help.
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jun-2015, 4:11 PM   #7
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,942
Yes, it's telling us your first post was incomplete as to your actual symptoms. It would be helpful also if you identified your amplifier and also provided a description of how the *complete* antenna system is installed. Include the antenna aiming direction as well as a description of what, if anything, is in the antenna's line of sight.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jun-2015, 4:37 PM   #8
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
I looked on the amp for a model number and was not able to find that. All I know is the amp is an old winegard amp. My setup is using the old dish network setup on the satellite mount on the peak of my roof with the height around 20ft off the ground. I have no trees or obstruction it's wide open soy bean fields around me. I am using RG6 cable that I am screwing into the amp block on the antenna, that cable runs down the side of my house into a splitter. I then have a 25ft RG6 cable running from the other side of the splitter into the pre-amp side of my power supply for the amp inside the house. I then have a 2ft coax from my amp power supply to the back of the tv. I also have a 2ft coax that goes from the amp on antenna to the cartridge board. I have a rotor on the antenna in which I have rotated in all directions to re-scan and see if I could pick up additional channels. If you need any additional details just let me know, thanks for the help.
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jun-2015, 4:58 PM   #9
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,942
Quote:
setup is using the old dish network
Did you remove ALL Dish-specific "splitters" or other accessories from the coax?

Quote:
the amp block on the antenna
????? That doesn't make any sense..

Quote:
into a splitter
Unless you're careful about what you use, splitters tend to block the operating power from getting to the amp which usually turns them into 30 dB attenuators (which means you won't get weak signals).
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jun-2015, 5:13 PM   #10
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
the amp block is the actual amp my apologies. I have not removed any dish network specific splitters or accessories. But I did put a 50' coax through my window as a direct run from tv to antenna with no splitters as a test for wiring issues, I received the same channels with no changes.
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jun-2015, 5:48 PM   #11
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,942
Quote:
But I did put a 50' coax through my window as a direct run from tv to antenna with no splitters as a test for wiring issues, I received the same channels with no changes.
You probably need to do that with the preamp at the antenna and its power inserter. Your UHF signals are calculated to be quite weak and a preamp is going to be mandatory. It's going to be a balancing act to select an amp that improves your system noise figure without causing compression or IMD from the strong, local signals.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jun-2015, 6:04 PM   #12
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
Since I was able to receive the channel 42 which is uhf does this mean my cartridge board is good and I am just having problems pulling in uhf channels at greater distances? If the cartridge board is good, then why was I not able to even get the strong local 42 when I bypassed the amp and went direct to the cartridge board? If I was to buy another amp do you have a recommendation for one that will pull those far uhf channels and not be impacted by the strong local stations?
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jun-2015, 7:16 PM   #13
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,942
I don't know. The data you've presented has been confusing. We still do not know positively which antenna you have or what amplifier is in use.

Details are very important...
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jun-2015, 8:15 PM   #14
Tim
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 275
Is there any way you could get pictures of each part of your system and a diagram as to how you have everything connected. I can't quite follow your description.
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jun-2015, 10:41 PM   #15
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
If you need any additional pics let me know.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg _20150625_181611.JPG (64.9 KB, 475 views)
File Type: jpg _20150625_182650.JPG (93.3 KB, 475 views)
File Type: jpg _20150625_183023.JPG (49.5 KB, 483 views)
File Type: jpg _20150625_183616.JPG (88.2 KB, 480 views)
File Type: jpg _20150625_183853.JPG (77.6 KB, 478 views)
File Type: jpg _20150625_183812.JPG (103.8 KB, 460 views)
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Jun-2015, 3:22 PM   #16
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
I figured out my amp its a winegard HDP269, still not sure model of the antenna.
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Jul-2015, 2:35 AM   #17
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
update on my post, I put a new cb-8269 cartridge on and same problem. I am picking up hi-v vhf channels 75 miles away from Detroit but still can't get any uhf channels from the Cleveland area. I just realized they make vhf only pre-amps. The winegard 3700 looks a lot like mine, I understand it's vhf only. I am wondering if this is my problem. I bought all this off craigslist so not exactly sure what i got. What amp should I get for uhf? Can I use 2 amps? If not which uhf/vhf all in one amp should I use?
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Jul-2015, 7:34 PM   #18
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,738
What happens if you try the test suggested by Hans in the Winegard video? Clip the leads of a 4:1 balun transformer directly to the UHF wires of the antenna, and connect the balun to your coax downlead, avoiding the 8269 cartridge (removed) and the preamp. Do you get UHF signals?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TlQke5QYbng

If you still don't get any UHF channels add a known good preamp.

If you still don't get any UHF try another antenna.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg handaspencerTVFmap.JPG (90.8 KB, 396 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 7-Jul-2015 at 8:06 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Jul-2015, 1:52 AM   #19
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
I did not originally do this test I just bought a new cartridge box. After putting on new box still did not work so I tried the test according to the video you suggested this evening. I JUST GOT ALL THE UHF CHANNELS!!!!!!! I really need help now, what does this mean? I bought a new box already. I have lost the vhf channels of course but I am pulling over 50 channels from this test without using a rotor. I am getting somewhere but I need more advise, any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Jul-2015, 7:44 PM   #20
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,738
It sounds like the CB-8269 was not making good contact with the UHF wires when it was in the housing, the board is defective, or it's the wrong board. I've never been impressed with their arrangement for combining VHF and UHF. Why don't you call their customer service tech.

Customer Service – RV, Truck, Marine and Home Antennas

Phone: 800-288-8094

Fax: 800-247-8221

Hours: M-F, 7:30am – 5:30pm CST

http://www.winegard.com/consumer-contacts
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 8-Jul-2015 at 7:57 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 5:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC