TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7-Apr-2013, 2:54 PM   #1
danbo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
what tvs have the best tuners?

i bought a vizio tv and lost 5 channels, if i hook up my digital converter box i get the channels back but all the channels are only 480i when using the box.

i think the vizio has a weak tuner. i dont want to use the converter. i have talked to customer service, it is not how i have the tv setup. i will be returning the tv.

what tv brands have the best tuners?

FYI---i plan on upgrading the antenna, but that is so i can get more channels not so i can get the ones i have always gotten.
danbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Apr-2013, 4:29 PM   #2
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Not in any order of preference , I recommend , Samsung or Sony.

The LED flat screen Tv's.

TV manufactures have , bottom of the line Tv's , middle of the road Tv's , top of the line Tv's.

I recommend middle of the road ~to~ close to top of the line.

__________________________________________________

If you will like recommendations for antennas and reception.

Is this a , house , town home , condo , apartment , mobile home , motor home , or etc.??

What directions do , windows , patios , balconies , face??

What floor??

What is the top floor??

How many Tv's are/will be connected??

Please make a tvfool report using the Exact address.

Make the antenna height 25 feet.
  Reply With Quote
Old 7-Apr-2013, 4:59 PM   #3
Stereocraig
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 472
W/O seeing specs, (Which are never provided) it would impossible to tell.
I can say however, that when we got our Bravia, it totally blew away the Tivax STB that we had.
It accessed channels quicker, too.
Stereocraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Apr-2013, 5:36 PM   #4
OberGeiss
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ/VT
Posts: 50
Send a message via Skype™ to OberGeiss
I have had same experience with a Dynex and Vizio. I do much much better with outboard Disk Network digital/analog converter or onboard tuners on my LG sets. I have not had a Samsung in the house but would be interested in trying.
OberGeiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Apr-2013, 5:47 PM   #5
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
Anecdotal only... My VIZIO ever so slightly beats the SiliconDust HDHR network attached tuners. The Toshiba is markedly worse.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Apr-2013, 11:06 PM   #6
danbo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
so LG, Samsung, or Sony.

i have had some people tell me samsung did not stand behind there product.

sony can be pricey.

i guess i will try LG, unless there are some others that have the best tuner.
danbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Apr-2013, 11:17 PM   #7
danbo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by teleview View Post

If you will like recommendations for antennas and reception.

Is this a , house , town home , condo , apartment , mobile home , motor home , or etc.??

What directions do , windows , patios , balconies , face??

What floor??

What is the top floor??

How many Tv's are/will be connected??

Please make a tvfool report using the Exact address.

Make the antenna height 25 feet.
house 1 story.

1 or 2 tvs

antenna is already 25-30 feet

i bought a 65 foot antenna pole, it has the big 6 foot half round antenna on it i dont know if it works.

i am 50-60 miles from all broadcasts.

i would like a unidirectional antenna, but i dont know if i can find a big enough one.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...1dda6e4802c161

Last edited by danbo; 7-Apr-2013 at 11:23 PM. Reason: add tvfool report
danbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Apr-2013, 11:53 PM   #8
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
It sounds as if you're describing an omnidirectional antenna. If so it will have very little gain, often with no significant VHF capability. Omnidirectional antennas also can not ignore multipath interference the way a high gain directional antenna can.

Your TV Fool report does not appear to be based on your exact location, it also is based on the default antenna height of 10', but if it's representative of your situation, you'll want to consider using separate UHF and VHF antennas. The Antennas Direct 91XG or Winegard HD9095P would be good choices for UHF. An Antennacraft Y10713 or Winegard YA1713 would be the best options for going after real channels 7 through 13 (High-VHF).

It would help a great deal if you could use the interactive map tool to locate your exact location and then use an antenna mounting height that is more realistic. (You mentioned a 65' antenna mast.)

There may be significant changes to our recommendations depending on what a more accurate report shows.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')

Last edited by GroundUrMast; 8-Apr-2013 at 12:00 AM.
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Apr-2013, 1:44 PM   #9
danbo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=90

i was looking at the wrong page,

btw, i put in my address and the map came up in Chicago, but i moved the pointer to my location.

should i get all the channels listed?
danbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Apr-2013, 7:12 AM   #10
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
Sorry, your link points only to the data entry form...
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Apr-2013, 8:01 PM   #11
danbo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
here are the coordinates 43.680039,-89.843616

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...1dda4c2215dc87

Last edited by GroundUrMast; 9-Apr-2013 at 10:50 PM. Reason: Converted LAT/LON to TVFR link
danbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Apr-2013, 10:09 PM   #12
danbo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
i just looked at your site name (GroundUrMast), and i thought i would share a photo of my parents house after the antenna was hit by lightning.

the mast was not grounded.

i think every electronic thing in the house was smoked, here is a partial list,

all the tvs, well pump, refrigerator, computer, dewalt battery charger and battery, pellet stove, furnace, electrical fuse box exploded, all vcr's, phone, surround sound system, playstation 2, washer and drier, basically anything that was plugged in.

and yes it was installed by a professional installer.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg HPIM0171.jpg (211.7 KB, 771 views)
danbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Apr-2013, 10:45 PM   #13
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
Wow!

I won't pretend that no damage would have occurred if the mast had been grounded... but I would venture to hope that some of the collateral damage could have been less.

(Grounding a TV antenna system, using the NEC as a minimum standard, usually costs less than a months cable bill.)
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Apr-2013, 11:00 PM   #14
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
The signal conditions shown in your report (http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...1dda4c2215dc87) calls for an antenna mounted high, clear of trees. Even then, you need high gain and directivity. An omnidirectional antenna offers neither attribute.

I would 'go big'. An Antennas Direct 91XG paired with an Antennacraft Y10713. The Antennacraft 10G221 preamp has inputs for both a UHF antenna and a VHF antenna.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Apr-2013, 12:45 AM   #15
danbo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
i took the vizio tv back and got a LG tv, i now can pick up the channels i was missing.

the antenna that i got with the 65' tower, i be leave is a Channel Master 4251,

should i make any and all repairs to it and install it, or is it a wast of time, how does it compare to the Antennas Direct 91XG paired with an Antennacraft Y10713? or is it like comparing apples and oranges?

do i need both antennas?, i thought i was told all digital channels where UHF. i dont care about non-digital channels.

any suggestions on an antenna rotator.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cmparascope42504251.jpg (52.1 KB, 456 views)
danbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Apr-2013, 3:25 AM   #16
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
Ahhhhhhh! That's definitely not a low gain omni'. If the antenna is in good shape, you have a rather impressive high gain, directional antenna, quite capable of doing the UHF portion of work in a premium antenna system.

I have antenna envy...


Look at your TV Fool report, paying close attention to the real-channel numbers. Though many stations moved to UHF frequencies, not all did. You'll need a capable VHF antenna to have a shot at seeing WSAW (real CH-7), WAOW (real CH-9)... and there are others that are weaker. If you want to forgo the expense, satisfied with the other stronger signal that carry the same major networks, the UHF only solution is certainly a valid choice.

Last edited by GroundUrMast; 10-Apr-2013 at 3:32 AM. Reason: VHF...
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 5:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC