TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 19-Apr-2013, 9:08 PM   #1
Claybuster

Reception problems, South Quebec (near Chateauguay NY)

Hello everyone, i'm a newbie here.

here's my analysis: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...1dda188a7fddbb

Right now, i'm using a homemade ''indoor'' db4 antenna on the first floor near the window to get a good reception on my hdtv.

2.1 SRC
6.1 CBC
8 CTV (analog)
10.1 TVA
12.1 CTV
15.1 Clobal (unamed on the analysis)
17.1 TQ (24.1 on the analysis and its wrong, should be corrected) *very bad reception* got it once ad never come back
66.1 *no signal* any idea of what channel it is?
66.2 Same .......... ?
77.1 Same .......... ?

Ok, so what to do to get a better reception and to pick up some more channels? I have decent reception from Montreal but would love to pick up Burlington and Plattsburgh area. Does a preamplifier like the ChannelMaster 7777 with the DB4 is enough?

What do i need to do to get:
35.1 V
57.1 PBS
3.1 CBS
5.1 NBC
22.1 ABC
44.1 FOX (any Chance?)

i'm a the begining of the adirondak mountains and lots of levels around.
Rural area, lots of trees.
I have a metal roof on the house. I suppose it is a reason why i have less channels?

I know i asked a lot of question. I'm open to all alternative.

I appreciate your help and thanks
Claybuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-Apr-2013, 5:36 PM   #2
GroundUrMast

When you click on the call-sign of a station listed on your TV Fool report, you get a view of the path profile, a graphic of the terrain cross-section between the transmitter and your location. In the case of the signal coming from 138° magnetic, you have some high terrain relatively close to your location. That suggests you'll be facing some significant challenges to reliable reception of those signals.