TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 5-May-2016, 4:27 PM   #1
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
Two Antennas

I want to know what equipment I would need to purchase to pick up the channels that are in the gray zone on the report. I can receive some of them when I turn the rotor so I know its possible but I wanted to add a second antenna for the difficult channels. I am willing to buy the best equipment to make this happen.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...51343d950c5bda
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5-May-2016, 6:08 PM   #2
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,719
What equipment are you using now?

Which channels (by callsign) in the gray are you getting now?

Which channels in the gray are most important to you?

A personal question, if I may ask:
Why are they so important to you?

Your previous threads:
no uhf signal Mansfield, OH; same tvfool report as this thread
http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=15616

Needed Channel Missing Bellville, OH
http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=15850

New Antenna Install Vanceburg, KY for father in law
http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=15861
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 5-May-2016 at 6:49 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5-May-2016, 6:49 PM   #3
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
I am currently using a wineguard 7084 antenna but I don't use an amp because its overpowering, I get 48-52 channels.

If I use an amp I can get wtol 11.1 and wtvg 13.1 for sure out of Detroit when I turn the rotor. I have a winegard 3700 amp for this, obviously I don't want to climb on the roof and take the amp on and off everytime. Last summer I found those stations on accident but I never really spent anytime finding additional. With the money I have saved from dropping cable I wanted to invest in a good OTA DVR and looking at adding a second antenna with a better amp to pull in from other cities.

The station I am most interested in is wbns-dt 10.1. I want to be able to get local coverage of the buckeyes including the coaches shows etc.. In addition during football season wbns 10.1 shows Bengals games from Cincinnati. My interest is strictly for regional sports coverage.
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-May-2016, 12:42 AM   #4
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,719
Thanks for the details. Reception of WBNS will be difficult. I doubt that you will have 24/7 reception, but you might be able to receive it at times during Tropo season when it will be stronger than predicted by your tvfool report.

It is difficult to receive signals with a NM lower than -10 dB. If you are able to receive a signal with a NM lower than -10 dB, you have an excellent antenna system, your tvfool report is wrong, or they have been enhanced by Tropospheric Propagation.



The terrain profile shown by clicking on WBNS in your report isn't very encouraging:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...ALLTV%26n%3d35

Using different software for a profile shows interference to the signal from the curvature of the earth:



and the Longley-Rice coverage map shows that your location is in a dead zone for the WBNS signal:



However, if you are willing to take a gamble on a second antenna system for WBNS, with no guarantee of success, I suggest an Antennas Direct 91XG or DB8e with both panels aimed in the same direction and a preamp like the the Antennas Direct Juice or Channel Master 7778. If you also want VHF-High coverage for your second antenna, I suggest the Winegard HD7698P. If you want to experiment with a low noise figure preamp, I suggest the Kitztech KT-200, but you will need an outdoor housing for it. Low noise figure preamps can give a little more weak signal sensitivity, but they are more subject to static damage.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg handaspencer4TVFp2WBNS.JPG (106.0 KB, 946 views)
File Type: jpg handaspencer4TVFcovWBNS.JPG (84.6 KB, 919 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 11-Sep-2017 at 8:16 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-May-2016, 12:37 PM   #5
skatingrocker17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 91
WTOL is the Toledo CBS affiliate and WTVG is the Toledo ABC affiliate. So that's what you're getting, not Detroit. Detroit would be WWJ and WXYZ.
skatingrocker17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-May-2016, 4:42 PM   #6
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
Thank you for the details I have reviewed. What did you mean regarding an outdoor housing for the kt-200?

You are correct regarding those being Toledo affiliates, thank you.
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-May-2016, 8:07 PM   #7
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,719
From the Kitztech website:

Remote Power - Coax Powered Version:
Quote:
The Remote Power - Coax Fed Version is designed to feed power from inside the house, via the coax, to a remote location where 120 volt power is not available.

This works great for basement, attic or mast mounting installations.

When mounting amplifier outside, it MUST be installed in a weatherproof enclosure (weatherproof enclosure not supplied).
http://www.kitztech.com/standard_coax.html

http://www.highdefforum.com/local-hd...tations-2.html

Quote:
I have the two-peice unit. I did have to construct a weatherproof enclosure for it.
post 19
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/25-hdt...l#post20479940

thread
Kitztech KT200 Coax Preamp Review
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/25-hdt...mp-review.html
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 6-May-2016 at 8:27 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-May-2016, 1:55 PM   #8
mikecandu
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 38
Hi,

I have a KT-200 in my antenna setup. The amplifier does come in a small aluminum enclosure that looks weatherproof but I took their advice and put it in a small plastic enclosure box that I bought at Home Depot. They also sent me an FM trap (looks like a splitter) because they said I had strong FM radio signals in my area. The amp gets it's power through the coax cable.

Previously I used the LNA100<?> from winegard. It's also a low noise amp but I found the Kitz is slightly better.

Good Luck
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20160507_093916.jpg (120.4 KB, 365 views)
File Type: jpg DB8e VHF addon rotor on jpole.jpg (190.4 KB, 397 views)
mikecandu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 8:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC