TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 4-Nov-2015, 8:04 PM   #1
amcgoody
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Lorain OHIO 44052
Posts: 4
Best antnna for my location, Lorain Ohio

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...8e039f45ca3b45 I hope this is a link to my location. I have built a G. H. without refelectors.

Last edited by amcgoody; 4-Nov-2015 at 8:07 PM.
amcgoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Nov-2015, 8:24 PM   #2
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,942
What problem are you trying to solve. Your plot says "Easy" for your locals.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Nov-2015, 10:04 PM   #3
rickbb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 338
Yep, unless you're behind big trees, a hill or a giant building that GH aimed at about 120 degrees magnetic should get you plenty of channels.

Assuming you built it correctly of course, first thing I learned about building my own antenna is the measurements really, really matter, a lot.
rickbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Nov-2015, 12:56 AM   #4
amcgoody
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Lorain OHIO 44052
Posts: 4
I think i built it right, I like to post a picture but I don't know how. I would like to lock in more channels From Toledo, and From Detroit.

Last edited by amcgoody; 9-Nov-2015 at 12:58 AM.
amcgoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Nov-2015, 1:38 AM   #5
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,719
Here is a map:



Stations in Toledo;
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...8e033ee0ba3abc

They will be difficult because you will need a preamp which will be overloaded by your local signals.

Stations in Detroit:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...8e03e8340a52a5

Forget about Detroit

You need a VHF antenna for Fox on real channel 8.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg amcgoodyTVFmap.JPG (113.6 KB, 918 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 9-Nov-2015 at 11:50 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Nov-2015, 1:52 AM   #6
amcgoody
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Lorain OHIO 44052
Posts: 4
Thank you, Rabbit, MY ch 8 WJW comes in fine with my GH, I am about 30 miles west of Cleveland. I can get 2 Toledo Chs V-High 11 &13 but With weak signal. With Tropo most Detroit and some Canada. Also I am using a RCA TVPRAMP Thanks
amcgoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Nov-2015, 9:10 PM   #7
WIRELESS ENGINEER
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Posts: 101
A properly built Hoverman should work well aimed at Cleavland for all but the VHF stations

The Hoverman is by far the best design for UHF TV yet only Antenna craft made them and they don't make them anymore

They used to sell a 16 bay Hoverman that was amazing

Since you are interrested in building antennas, maybe try making a simple 4 bay bowtie antenna and see how that works too
WIRELESS ENGINEER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Nov-2015, 11:43 PM   #8
skatingrocker17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 91
You will need a rotator then if you're trying to get Toledo/Detroit. Although, regardless of what direction your antenna is pointed your Cleveland station will still probably come in. I used to live about 25 minutes south of Toledo and regardless of what direction my antenna was pointed, I could get Toledo stations due to the signal strength being strong.

You will probably never be able to get the Detroit stations reliably, your antenna would have to be aimed in the right direction and be very high. I would always try to get Detroit, and I was a little closer than you. Most nights they would come in, but since the Detroit stations were in the same direction as the Toledos stations for me, I think that made it more difficult. I would normally see WXYZ, WDIV, and WTVS. CBET channel 9 was pretty rare to see, although it did use to be offered on our Time Warner Cable.

In our bedroom, I have a flat wall UHF antenna, but it is still able to pick up our local Fox 2 Detroit station (real channel 7), so you may be able to get your local VHF Fox station with an UHF antenna too, if the signal is strong enough.
skatingrocker17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Jan-2016, 12:18 AM   #9
amcgoody
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Lorain OHIO 44052
Posts: 4
Any other thoughts for my location and set up, Thanks.
__________________
Home made GH RCA TVPRAMP 33FT RG 6 50 FT Run.
amcgoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 7:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC