TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-Jun-2012, 7:56 PM   #1
mach1dsg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Help selecting Antenna for 92688 Zip code

I'm a newbie when it comes to Antennas , and furthermore confused with all the tems, UFH -VHF ,etc, etc. I've been looking into this site, and i have to say "awesome job", i'm commited in cutting up my cable company, since we just had a baby, and i need to cut in everything i can.

I ran the report TV signal analysis, but i don't know what Antenna to buy based on the results. I know it'll have to be mounted on the roof, i figured 15ft above the ground more or less in the report.


http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...1349c4dd93af28

what Antenna can i buy based on the report ? Would Antennas direct DB4 work for me ? or would i have to step it up and pay more $$$ for one ?

I really appreciate the help.

Last edited by mach1dsg; 15-Jun-2012 at 8:00 PM.
mach1dsg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-Jun-2012, 8:29 PM   #2
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
ALL questions and answers about Broadcast Tv Reception and more.

Many , many , many , many , many , many , Tv stations/channels will be received.

This recomendation is based on the Digital Broadcast Tv Channels of the Current and Pending Applications Included of the tvfool radar plot.

All most all of the receiable Tv stations are to the north west.

Install a Winegard HD7084P antenna with a Winegard AP8275 preamp above the roof aimed at about 313 degree magnetic compass (north west).

Here is how to aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html.

Here are some Strong and Sturdy antenna mounts , http://www.ronard.com/909911.html , http://www.ronard.com/34424560.html , http://www.ronard.com/ychim.html , http://www.ronard.com.

Buy the ronard antenna mounts by typing the word ronard in the solidsignal search box.

Here are places to buy antennas and etc. , http://www.solidsignal.com , http://www.winegarddirect.com , http://www.amazon.com.

How many Tv/s are/will be connected??

Last edited by Electron; 15-Jun-2012 at 8:44 PM.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-Jun-2012, 8:37 PM   #3
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
ALL questions and answers about Broadcast Tv Reception and more.

The TV/s must scan for the Broadcast Tv Channels sometimes named the 'Air Channels' or 'Antenna Channels' in the Tv setup menu because the Tv tranasmissions travel through the air from the transmitting antenna to the receiving antenna.

DO NOT scan for cable tv channels.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-Jun-2012, 9:21 PM   #4
mach1dsg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Thank you so much for your help Electron, i'll start the reading and buy the items today.
mach1dsg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Jun-2012, 7:21 PM   #5
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
ALL questions and answers about Broadcast Tv Reception and more.

You did not say how many Tv's will be connected.

If you currently have no splitters then I recommend Holland Electronics splitters.

For 1 Tv connected use no splitter.

For 2 Tv's connected use a Holland HFS-2D , 2 way splitter.

For 3 Tv's connected use a Holland HFS-3D , 3 way splitter.

For 4 Tv's connected use a Holland HFS-4D , 4 way splitter.

Buy the Holland splitters at solidsignal.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Jun-2012, 7:47 PM   #6
mach1dsg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
I have 2 TV's, I'm currently using Cox cable, but the previous owner was wired through Directv, the cable company came and simple switched the cable from the Directv dish, to the connection that comes from Cox (at least i think that's what they did because the guy didn't even stay in the house 5 minutes when he said the cable signal was all done). Since the dish is mounted in the roof already with a tripod, i was thinking to use the pole to mount the antenna in that place.
mach1dsg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Jun-2012, 6:04 AM   #7
BikingBrian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 27
Yes, it will have to go on the roof for sure, the attic won't cut it with the tile roofs you have there.

A tripod mount on the roof peak would be best, but it's problematic with a tile roof. I ended up using a chimney mount. Some people say they put a lot of stress on a chimney, but our chimneys are reinforced for earthquakes, so I think an antenna there would be OK. It sounds like using the pole for your (former) dish should be the easiest and will be your best bet.

BTW, you'll be pretty jealous of my TV Fool report I pick up everything crystal clear with a dinky little Channel Master antenna. The only reason I went through the trouble was because I was putting a ham radio antenna on the same mast.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...134984c258d029

Good luck!
BikingBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-Jun-2012, 12:41 AM   #8
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
ALL questions and answers about Broadcast Tv Reception and More.

The HD7084P antenna is BIG Antenna. I strongly recommend using the Strong and Sturdy antenna mounts I recommended.

Thinking in terms of cutting corners any where in and of the antenna system is not wise.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 1:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC