TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3-May-2023, 9:12 PM   #1
jp2code
Ctrl+Alt+Delete
 
jp2code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Longview, TX [USA]
Posts: 52
What happened to my TV!??

Back in 2015, I posted this thread about a new antenna:

Joe's Antenna Suggestion

Here is an updated tvfool Signal Analysis:



Channels 28, 34, and 21 were all weak. The antenna was sort of close to a tree at (1), so I've been wanting to move the antenna back about 50 feet to the other side of the house (2) like I tried to illustrate in the crappy picture below.



But now, my Roku TV is not showing ANY channels!

I've tried the following:
  • flip the RF filter
  • removed the RF filter
  • replace the coax with all new store bought

I've got one of these Coaxial Pocket Toner Continuity Testers:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B096S5WM96

There are better ones, but this one beeps, telling me that my signal is getting through.

All I cannot test is the actual antenna on the roof or the antenna tuner inside the Roku.

What could have gone wrong? Is anyone familiar with something that sounds like this? I can't imagine what happened.
__________________
~Joe
Avoid Sears Home Improvement!
jp2code is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5-May-2023, 1:34 AM   #2
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by jp2code View Post
Back in 2015, I posted this thread about a new antenna:

Joe's Antenna Suggestion
Hello, Joe; good to hear from you again at your new location.
Quote:
Here is an updated tvfool Signal Analysis:
We are now using reports from rabbitears.info because the TVFool database isn't up to date. You can do a report here:
https://rabbitears.info/searchmap.php

I did this report for what I think is your location:
https://rabbitears.info/searchmap.ph...tudy_id=969946



If the last two columns are pink, the channel is probably off the air.

Quote:
But now, my Roku TV is not showing ANY channels!
This is not good. Even though your location doesn't have many strong channels and has many trees, you should get something!
Quote:
I've tried the following:
  • flip the RF filter
  • removed the RF filter
  • replace the coax with all new store bought
What is the RF filter?
What is the Model number of the TV?
What antennas are you using?
Quote:
What could have gone wrong? Is anyone familiar with something that sounds like this? I can't imagine what happened.
The only thing I can think of is to make some substitutions for the TV, feed line, and antenna to find out which is causing the problem.

Quote:
All I cannot test is the actual antenna on the roof or the antenna tuner inside the Roku.
I don't understand that sentence.
Attached Images
File Type: png jp2codeTVFreportRE_1.png (325.6 KB, 798 views)
File Type: jpg jp2codeTVFgrnLines_1.jpg (223.1 KB, 201 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5-May-2023, 11:46 PM   #3
OTAFAN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 260
Hey rabbit73!

I'm very glad you're back posting on this forum! You were sorely missed! I read over at AVS forum you had fallen off a ladder, but were no worse the wear. I hope this finds you well.

Would it help if jp2code got up on his roof and aimed his antenna directly at one of the strongest signals, to see if his TV picks up reception? If that doesn't work, perhaps his Roku TV might be the issue? Last time I checked, Samsung seems to have the most sensitive tuners on the market at present.

Just my two cents. If you can't help him resolve his issues, nobody can!

Take care and all the best.....
OTAFAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-May-2023, 12:06 AM   #4
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTAFAN View Post
Hey rabbit73!
I'm very glad you're back posting on this forum! You were sorely missed! I read over at AVS forum you had fallen off a ladder, but were no worse the wear. I hope this finds you well.
Thank you for your good wishes. I'm doing the best I can for someone who is 89.

Quote:
Would it help if jp2code got up on his roof and aimed his antenna directly at one of the strongest signals, to see if his TV picks up reception? If dthat doesn't work, perhaps his Roku TV might be the issue? Last time I checked, Samsung seems to have the most sensitive tuners on the market at present.
He said that he was able to receive some signals before he moved the antenna and replaced the coax. But after he moved the antenna and replaced the coax, he wasn't able to receive any signals.

I would first suspect the new coax and connections. In order to test the coax, it has to be disconnected from the antenna and any other equipment. First you have to test for continuity of the center conductor and continuity in the shield. Next you have to check for a short between the center conductor and the shield. I use an ohmmeter to make those tests.



Then I would check the settings on the TV. Smart TVs are dumb when the settings are not correct.

Well, he will have to make some tests to find the cause of the reception problem. I don't have the details about his system, so all I can do is suggest some tests to try to narrow it down to find the part of the system that is causing the problem by a substitution for each item in turn. Going to the extreme, that might mean he would end up with a completely separate test setup with a different TV, feedline, and portable external antenna to at least receive one of his two strongest channels RF 20 or RF 7.

Quote:
Just my two cents. If you can't help him resolve his issues, nobody can!
Thank you for your kind words. I wish I were that good, but I can't solve them all. I do know that being persistent often gives me a solution.

I don't see any antenna on his roof, but there are many trees. Maybe these photos were taken at the wrong time.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg jp2codeTVFoblique_1.jpg (273.7 KB, 186 views)
File Type: jpg jp2codeTVFvertical_1.jpg (150.8 KB, 188 views)
File Type: jpg GB GMT-318_1.jpg (227.1 KB, 781 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 10-May-2023 at 12:10 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-Dec-2023, 11:15 PM   #5
jp2code
Ctrl+Alt+Delete
 
jp2code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Longview, TX [USA]
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by jp2code View Post
What could have gone wrong? Is anyone familiar with something that sounds like this? I can't imagine what happened.
I'm sorry. I should have updated with the solution:

The VHF/UHF combiner failed.

I bought a new one, and everything started working again.

Sorry for abandoning everyone.
__________________
~Joe
Avoid Sears Home Improvement!
jp2code is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Dec-2023, 11:26 PM   #6
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by jp2code View Post
I'm sorry. I should have updated with the solution:

The VHF/UHF combiner failed.

I bought a new one, and everything started working again.

Sorry for abandoning everyone.
Thanks for the update, Joe.

Glad you found the solution to the problem.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 8:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC