TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 7-Jul-2014, 11:34 PM   #1
farside847

New Antenna installation options

Hi guys! I am looking at installing my first antenna. I ran the TVfool report:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e1c6cbe0b3d5b4

I would like to try and get my main local channels before football season starts These include channels 2, 4, 5, 7 , 9 and 11 (I am trying to figure out the callsigns but they are confusing me a bit.)

It seems that I am pretty far off from any broadcasting tower, 60 miles, so I have been googling for long range antennas. I found a few that seem to have good reviews: Mohu Air, DB8e, Clearstream4 and even one from SF Cable that looks like a laserbeam :O

I am still learning, but it looks like I may have two tower options, one to the north and one to the south. I am not sure which one may be the best.

I am also wondering about installation options. I have a 2 story house with an attic, and I would prefer to install the antenna in the attic if possible to avoid getting on the roof. But if I really need to I guess I can borrow a 30 foot ladder and try to install it up there. Maybe one of those antenna mounts that can be bolted to the big wood eves? I have a tile roof and a stucco chimney with solar panels on top.

Anyway, I would love so hear what you experts suggest on what channels you think!
- what channels might I be able to get?
- what tower should I aim for?
- what is the best antenna/amp to use?
- attic or eave mount?
- does solar interfere with attic or roof mount?

thank you!
farside847 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Jul-2014, 5:56 PM   #2
GroundUrMast

Reception of the signals south of your location is going to be far easier than those to the north.