TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 20-Nov-2011, 1:38 AM   #1
Florappaloosier

Difference Between EZ HD and RCA ANT751 Antennas?

The EZ HD Antenna and RCA ANT751 appear to be the exact same antennas. However, Denny's Antenna Service that sells the EZ HD Antenna claims that it has 2.2 more db's than the RCA ANT751. Is this true? I ask because he sells his (with the mount) for $69. Amazon sells the RCA antenna with a mount for $44 (quite a difference).

Any input is appreciated.
Florappaloosier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-Nov-2011, 2:04 AM   #2
Electron

Antenna

The EZ HD and the RCA ANT751 are the same antenna.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-Nov-2011, 2:06 AM   #3
Florappaloosier

Clarification

So, there is no difference? Even in the supposed 2.2 db's claimed by the maker of the EZ HD antenna? Have you had experience with this antenna? How do you know they are the same? I am new to the world of antennas and appreciate your insight.
Old 21-Nov-2011, 4:39 PM   #4
Denny

There is a difference between the EZ HD antenna and the ANT 751. Yes, the antennas are made by the same manufacturer and with my permission RCA is allowed to market the ANT 751. In 2009 at the time of the analog shutdown the EZ HD was re-tuned and cut to the new and current digital frequencies and the ANT 751 was not. The UHF gain of the EZ HD antenna is greater than that of the ANT 751. The new improved frequency tuned EZ HD was tested against the ANT 751 on the same test range and the average UHF signal gain was improved by 2.2 dB.

I don't know where you get your info. Electron but it is incorrect.

Denny
Denny's Antenna Service
Denny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-Nov-2011, 11:32 PM   #5
skatingrocker17

I'm curious as well. I'm looking to buy either one tonight to play around with.

Edit: Just saw your response Denny. Thanks.

You should get a cut of the money that RCA gets. Is the 751R a revision of the 751?