TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-May-2021, 8:08 PM   #1
deeciple
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 23
Radio Shack attenuator (any good)?

Hi all,

I was going through some old electronics that I have accumulated and discovered (new in the package) a Radio Shack 20db variable attenuator (item number 15-578). I am currently using a 6db inline attenuator but I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with the 15-578 and can tell me whether it's any good or if it will hurt more than help. I like the idea of being able to adjust the level of attenuation but not if it will introduce much noise into the system.



Thanks,
Ken
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 15-578.jpg (66.7 KB, 302 views)
deeciple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-May-2021, 10:43 PM   #2
OTAFAN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 231
Hi deeciple:

I have one of those and have used it in the past with expected results, from min to max. I can't remember what specs or numbers I was receiving, though.

I'm not using it currently so I can't report any present feedback. But since you did stabilize the signal to your receiver with a 6db attenuator as mentioned in your prior post, this might give you a bit more flexibility. Give it a try.

Let the forum know what results you get. I'm sure it would be helpful for some.

Thanks and all the best.....

Last edited by OTAFAN; 25-May-2021 at 10:54 PM.
OTAFAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-May-2021, 4:28 AM   #3
deeciple
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTAFAN View Post
Let the forum know what results you get. I'm sure it would be helpful for some.
Finally had a few minutes to connect up the variable attenuator. This past couple of days was very windy around here and with all the trees, not a good reception day overall

Once the wind died down I was able to test. I like being able to dial up the signal level to 100% and then back off just a tad but I don't see where I am getting any change in signal quality. I will keep it inline as I like the control it gives me.

Best regards,
Ken
deeciple is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC