TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-May-2021, 1:46 PM   #1
Caveman007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 9
Help with reception and new antenna

Hi all I am looking to replace my antenna and the distribution amplifier, my current antenna is really old. the mast height is about 35 feet with about 30 feet of cable to the distribution point for the tv's .
I am looking to purchase the channel master CM-3414 4-Port Distribution Amplifier for Cable and Antenna Signal. for the distribution amp.

I will need a new antenna Bi directional would be nice ( I think ) I will try to post my tv fool report here.
Could someone please help me with which antenna or other equipment would be the best for my situation?

Thanks

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...9038d40948c99c
Caveman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-May-2021, 6:11 PM   #2
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,234
A bidirectional antenna is a good choice for you. Take a look at the 2-MAX.
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-May-2021, 2:30 PM   #3
Caveman007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 9
Could you direct me to where I could get more info on the 2-MAX I searched for it but couldn't find it. Thanks

What's your thought's on the DB8-E
Caveman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-May-2021, 3:49 PM   #4
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,234
https://store.antennasdirect.com/Cle...V-Antenna.html

I like the DB-8e, but it’s not a good antenna in your situation.
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-May-2021, 5:28 PM   #5
Caveman007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 9
Is this good for distant stations and do I need any boosters with it. And also is it going to last me for some time. I'm 70 and I really don't want to replace it after a few years.

And Thanks for the quick reply and your time.
Caveman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-May-2021, 7:42 PM   #6
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,234
11 years ago I installed a pair of Antennas Direct C-2 antennas (a predecessor to the 2MAX) on a tower located on a hilltop. Those antennas are still in use.

The channel master distribution amplifier that you mentioned would help the reception of a few of the weaker and off-axis stations. I would suggest that you keep the length of the RG-6 between the antenna and the amplifier as short as possible.
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-May-2021, 8:39 PM   #7
Caveman007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 9
Thanks a lot for the help
I will look into that antenna. :

P.S. do I need the reflector that comes with it? And what's the chances of picking up channel 10 London when pointed towards the Detroit area. sorry for being a pain.

Last edited by Caveman007; 31-May-2021 at 9:15 PM.
Caveman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-May-2021, 11:57 PM   #8
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caveman007 View Post
Thanks a lot for the help
I will look into that antenna. :

P.S. do I need the reflector that comes with it? And what's the chances of picking up channel 10 London when pointed towards the Detroit area. sorry for being a pain.
Hello, Caveman007

The C2V comes with a reflector. You will need to remove it to make the antenna bi-directional. The newer C2MAX doesn't come with a reflector, but one is available as an accessory.

Receiving channel 10 from London will be difficult. You might need a separate VHF-High antenna for it if that channel is important.

The TVFool reports are not as accurate as they used to be; the database is out of date. I did a rabbitears.info signal report based on an estimate of your location:
https://www.rabbitears.info/searchma...tudy_id=270196

You can do your own report here (I use coordinates from Google maps):
https://www.rabbitears.info/searchmap.php



You are outside the area of coverage for CFPL:



and there is terrain blocking the direct signal:

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Cavedman007TVFcovCFPL_1.jpg (185.3 KB, 409 views)
File Type: jpg Cavedman007TVFp3CFPL_1.jpg (104.5 KB, 400 views)
File Type: jpg Caveman007TVFreportRE_1.jpg (274.9 KB, 400 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 1-Jun-2021 at 12:07 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Jun-2021, 12:27 PM   #9
Caveman007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 9
Okay but I am going to be a pain again, but this confuses me when you say it would be hard to pickup channel 10. I had a different antenna and amp on an tower at another house. I even picked up Toledo once in awhile faint but it was there. Have they changed the signal strength or any thing that I wouldn't pick up 10 or is there a different option.

Thanks
Caveman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Jun-2021, 6:14 PM   #10
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caveman007 View Post
Okay but I am going to be a pain again, but this confuses me when you say it would be hard to pickup channel 10. I had a different antenna and amp on an tower at another house. I even picked up Toledo once in awhile faint but it was there. Have they changed the signal strength or any thing that I wouldn't pick up 10 or is there a different option.

Thanks
I certainly don't want to confuse you, I'm just going by what the rabbit ears.info signal report says. The report is only a computer simulation. It tells me that your location is outside the area of coverage for CFPL on RF channel 10, the direct signal is blocked by terrain, and it is listed as a Bad quality Tropo signal.

This coverage map is by rabbitears.info:









Signal reports for weak signals can be wrong. I consider reception of CFPL difficult, but not impossible at your location. CFPL is about 55 dB weaker than your strongest channel.

CFPL is transmitted on a VHF-High channel. The antenna you are considering only has a dipole (the single horizontal element sticking out of each side) for that band; the loops are for UHF channels, not CFPL.

The report I did was based on my guess of your location in the NW section of Wallaceburg. Please do a rabbitears.info report for your location using coordinates. Also do a report for the other house you mentioned so that I can see the difference. A different location can have very different signal strengths. You can do the reports at this site:
https://www.rabbitears.info/searchmap.php

OTA reception is hard to predict; I can't give you a guarantee. You haven't even told us what your present antenna is or shown us a picture of it. You haven't told us what direction it is aimed at. You haven't told us what channels you get with your present antenna. You also didn't tell us about the antenna at the other house. We are having to do a lot of guessing.

Wanting your antenna to be bi-directional makes the UHF signals a little weaker when you remove the reflector.

I have been giving reception advice for about 12 years. I started doing antenna experiments when I was 8; I'm now 88 and still doing antenna experiments.

You will just have to try another antenna to see if it works better.

Why don't you put up the antenna that Tower Guy recommended, see how it works, and let us know.

You asked for an alternative. It would be two antennas, one for each direction.

The only other alternative is to stick with what you have now.

It's your antenna system and your money; you get to decide what you want to do.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Caveman007TVFcovCFPLcu_1.jpg (230.6 KB, 386 views)
File Type: jpg Caveman007TVFcovCFPLtvf_1.jpg (193.4 KB, 393 views)
File Type: jpg Caveman007TVFreportRE_2.jpg (62.9 KB, 385 views)
File Type: jpg Cavedman007TVFp3CFPL_2.jpg (119.8 KB, 387 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 2-Jun-2021 at 2:11 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2-Jun-2021, 2:06 PM   #11
Caveman007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 9
thanks for your reply hope I didn't step on an toes.
Caveman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2-Jun-2021, 3:15 PM   #12
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caveman007 View Post
thanks for your reply hope I didn't step on an toes.
No problem.

I wanted to give you a complete description of why I thought reception of CFPL might be difficult, so that you would know what to expect.

Your other desired channels should be OK.

Best regards,
rabbit
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 2-Jun-2021 at 3:18 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC