TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 18-Jul-2010, 3:29 PM   #1
YOG

New antenna

Hi, I bought a new antenna channel master 4228hd 8 bay antenna, installed it on the roof at 30ft. I can get a number of digital channels but would like some advise. 1. how can I get good signal from Toronto and Buffalo, do I need two antennas? 2. a lot of the channels are 50 miles away, do I need a booster or something to increase these signals.

I am new at this so please keep it simple, I appreciate any input.

Thank you
Tv signal analysis
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...9fbe73b1c44f64
I did not know if the attached file worked.
YOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Jul-2010, 8:17 AM   #2
kb2fzq

Many of the stations that are LOS (line of sight) on your TVFool report are still broadcasting in analog not digital....the digital converter box will not receive these channels unless there is a pass-thru option for analog on the box.
To look to see if you can get the analog stations, plug the antenna coax directly into the TV and see what you get...
kb2fzq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Jul-2010, 1:10 PM   #3
YOG

I have the coax plug in directly in my new LCD with built in tuner and i receive all of the analog channels. I am interested in getting more digital channels or stronger signal for the ones I get.

I have my antenna pointing at 110 degrees and can get all the channels with NM(dB) above 0. Although the channels with NM(dB) between 0 to +10.0 are in and out. How can I get stronger signal for these channel?

I also would like to get some local digital channels that are closer in distance but are lower in NM(dB) (Virt) 44.1, 25.1, 64.1, 57.1, 41.1, 61.1.

For best results should I have two antennas 1 pointing at 120 degrees, and 2nd pointing at 46 degrees with a booster or something that will increase these signals.

tvfool analysis

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...9fbe73b1c44f64

Thank you,

YOG