TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-Oct-2011, 5:15 PM   #1
yomanwill
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Recommendations for a Set-top antenna?

I live on the 3rd floor of a 3 floor apartment building, vinyl siding, asphalt roofing, Lake Orion, Michigan area (Detorit is close by). Thus, I am limited to set-top antenna, but I would like to pull in as many stations as possible, cost really isnít that important. The cash Iím saving by not having a monthly cable bill will offset the purchase of good equipment. Iím sure you guys get this type of question all of the time, so thanks.

Report:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...3f5b4296306c92
yomanwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Oct-2011, 6:27 PM   #2
MisterMe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA Gulf South
Posts: 231
All things considered, you best bet is probably a Terk HDTVa Indoor Amplified Antenna.
MisterMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Oct-2011, 12:17 AM   #3
yomanwill
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Cool, I'll give it a shot
yomanwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Oct-2011, 2:11 AM   #4
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
I usually go out of my way to talk people 'off the ledge' of of buying an amplified antenna...

You're in a tough spot, not being able to mount outdoors, in the clear. While I'm not whole-heatedly on board, you are in an 'exception to the rule' situation.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Oct-2011, 10:11 PM   #5
yomanwill
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Ya. The main reason is so I can pull in live broadcasts for things like debates and news. I then plan to use hulu plus to fill in for cable. I'll report back how well it worked. Right now I have some bunny ears that I had to solder to coax and was able to pull in ABC and fox. With the addition of tin foil.
yomanwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-Nov-2011, 3:41 AM   #6
yomanwill
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Well, here is the update as promised, the antenna works great! Below is a listing of channels that I was able to pull in. The ones highlighted in orange (38 & 62) means that this signal is ok, viewable, but does cut out for time to time. The color coding chart on the report was pretty accurate, with the antenna on top of the TV I wasn't able to pull in the marked channels, I then moved it a little higher and was able to get them.

WJBK-DT 2.1 FOX
WDIV-HD 4.1 NBC
WDIV-SD 4.2 NBC
WXYZ-HD 7.1 ABC
WXYZ DT 7.2 ABC
WMYD-HD 20.1 MyN
WMYD-SD 20.2 MyN
WCMZ 28 28.1 PBS
WCMX-28 28.2 PBS
WCMZ-28 28.3 PBS
WADLDT1 38.1 Ind
WADLDT2 38.2 Ind
WADLDT3 38.3 Ind
WADLDT4 38.4 Ind

WKBD-HD 50.1 CW
WTVS-HD 56.1 PBS
WTVS-SD 56.2 PBS
WTVSSD2 56.3 PBS
WWJ-HD 62.1 CBS
WSHM 66.1 FOX
WSHM 66.2 FOX
WSHM 66.3 FOX


Here is a picture of the set-up:
yomanwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-Nov-2011, 4:31 AM   #7
MisterMe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA Gulf South
Posts: 231
Congratulations! I am happy to hear that your new antenna is working well and improved your reception.
MisterMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 5:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC