TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-Oct-2012, 2:03 AM   #1
akrob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Reception

I've been using my antenna for roughly a year now. I have it mounted to the side of my house. My issue is that ME TV (KFDF) changed which channel they were on. When I re-scanned the audio comes in very choppy. I have tried to turn my antenna, but to no avail. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

I currently have no pre-amp. It is running though a grounding block and into a 3 way splitter. I have an 8 ft mast with a Winegard HD7694P.

Also, my mast is currently grounded to my electrical box using a long solid copper wire. Is there a better way I can ground it, without running that much copper?

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...2df99d5d9a0e5e
akrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Oct-2012, 9:08 AM   #2
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
What direction is the antenna aimed?
Is Mundo Fox carried as another sub-channel on the same real channel?
Do you know the real channel number you're receiving?

Grounding the mast usually requires a long run of wire. The best you can do in many cases is to run as directly as possible from the mast to the main electrical service ground. Avoid sharp bends.

Grounding the coax on the other hand, should be done with a short piece of wire. The coax may need to be run a long distance, but the grounding block should be within a few feet of the main electrical service ground.

Grounding should not reduce the effectiveness of your antenna system, I doubt grounding is the cause of your trouble, if it were, I would think you'd have trouble on many if not all channels.
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Oct-2012, 3:10 PM   #3
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Do a Double rescan.

Digital tuners can develop digital glitches , over time , and when Tv stations make changes to digital transmissions.

http://www.dtv.gov/rescan.html.
______________________________________________________

More information about the Tv stations that Me-Tv is on.

http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...ility_id=52432.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KFDF-LD.

________________________________________

For better reception of the groups of Digital Tv stations that are to the , north/north west , west , south west , south , south east , east.

Aim the HD7694P antenna at about 200 degree magnetic compass direction.

Here is how to aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html.

This will improve reception of KKAF-CD UHF channel 33 and will put the groups of digital Tv stations at angles to the Tv antenna.

With the antenna aimed at about 150 degree magnetic compass direction that puts the Tv stations to the west and east , on the sides of the antenna , Tv transmitters that are on the sides of a antenna have the least amount of reception.

It is better to have the Tv transmitters at the front of the antenna and then the back of the antenna and then angles to the antenna. Or angles and then back.

Last edited by teleview; 26-Oct-2012 at 3:09 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26-Oct-2012, 3:51 PM   #4
Stereocraig
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 472
http://www.titantv.com/ Shows that you have access to two MeTV stations.
Are you able to receive both and do they both have choppy audio?
Stereocraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Oct-2012, 11:52 PM   #5
akrob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
I tried to rescan, but that did not work. I also tried to point it to 200 degrees magnetic direction. I lost the channel completely. I moved it to 150 degrees and got the channel again, but still choppy.

It is at real channel 36, and is the only ME TV I get. I did notice that my signal strength is running about 40% while the other channels I get are running 80 - 90%.

Also, Mundo Fox is choppy as well, but since I don't speak Spanish I don't really care about that channel.

Would it be a good idea to get a pre-amp, if so what kind?

The only thing I think I can try is to take out the splitter. I go through a grounding block and then a splitter before reaching my tv, and of course wall jacks.
akrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Oct-2012, 3:32 AM   #6
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Remove the 3 way splitter.

Reception now??
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-Oct-2012, 3:25 PM   #7
akrob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Removed the splitter, and no luck. Still choppy. Signal strength did improve to 47 to 50%.
akrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Oct-2012, 10:50 PM   #8
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
As a Test of reception , connect a New loooong RG-6 coax to the antenna and run the coax through a open door or window direct to the Tv.

Turn/Adjust the antenna for best reception.

As always , trees and tree leaves do a real fine job of reducing or blocking Tv reception and so do buildings and other obstructions.

It is best install the antenna at a location that has the least amount to no amount of obstructions of any type or kind in the directions of reception.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC