TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 11-Apr-2010, 1:14 PM   #1
fletch99

Attic antenna advice

I know outside is the place for an antenna. That said this is an attic setup for now. I would like to improve my reception.

Currently I have an HBU33 aimed at 140 degrees + Home made mounted horizontally pointed at 310 degrees => reversed 2-way splitter => 269 pre-amp => 3-way splitter.

When I turned the HBU to 140 I pretty much lost WWBT 12 which is VHF 26KW. Adding the home made antenna got it back but later I realized it was VHF so I'm not sure why the home made, which I think is UHF only, helped.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...9c6b8a3c0f19dd

Having some difficulty with WCVE & WCVW & WUPV

I can get WVBT ION but only late and early and never very strong signal. This seems to be the weakest signal this setup can pick up.

I've wondered if I removed the home made and got a 91XG and aimed it at 140 and aimed the HBU33 at 310 and still combine the signals then the pre-amp if I could make a big improvement. I honestly don't know but am looking for an economical way to improve this setup.
fletch99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Apr-2010, 2:32 AM   #2
No static at all

Fletch,

Did you ever try bypassing the 3 way splitter & running just 1 TV off the HBU33 antenna & 269 pre-amp? (No 2nd antenna either)
No static at all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Apr-2010, 3:09 AM   #3
fletch99

Yes. I took a small digital TV up there and hooked each antenna to it directly with no splitter and no preamp to get the most channels out of each antenna. With everything hooked up except the pre-amp I loose 49.1,49.2,49.3.
Old 12-Apr-2010, 4:12 PM   #4
Dave Loudin