TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 6-May-2012, 6:24 AM   #1
furbymac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 8
rookie question channels 2-6

judging by this chart i don't need to worry about those channels am i correct?

i have seen alot of antennas that are "tuned" for channels 7-69 so if i don't need to worry about channels 2-6 it would be very helpful.
furbymac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-May-2012, 7:25 AM   #2
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv Antennas and Tv Reception

There are No receivable VHF low band channels of 2 thru 6 at your location. Look at the Real and Virtual channels collums of the tvfool radar report. Example: WRTV-DT Real channel 25 and Virtual channel (6.1) ABC. The following antenna recommendation is based on the Current Plus Pending Applications Included for Digital Broadcast Tv stations/channels. Install a ANT751 or ANT751R above the roof aimed at about 218 degree magnetic compass. Here is how to aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html. The Tv stations/channels in the Green and Yellow reception zones will be received down to and including WIPX-DT Real channel 27 ION will be received. Here are some antenna mounts , http://www.ronard.com/909911.html , http://www.ronard.com/34424560.html , http://www.ronard.com/ychim.html , http://www.ronard.com. Buy the ronard antenna mounts at solidsignal by typing the word ronard in the solidsignal search box or buy from ronard. Here are places to buy antennas and etc. , http://www.solidsignal .com , http://www.amazon.com.

Last edited by Electron; 6-May-2012 at 7:39 AM.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-May-2012, 7:33 AM   #3
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv Antennas and Tv Reception

For 1 Tv connected a amplifier is not required. For 2 Tv's connected use a Channel Master CM3412 distribution amplifier , For 3 or 4 Tv's connected use a CM3414 distribution amplifier. http://www.channelmasterstore.com . The Tv/s Must scan for the Digital Broadcast Tv Channels sometimes named the 'Antenna Channels or 'Air channels in the Tv set up menu because the Tv transmissions travel through the air from the transmitting antenna to your receiving antenna. Do Not scan for cable Tv channels.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-May-2012, 11:45 AM   #4
signals unlimited
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: south-central PA.
Posts: 453
I don't see a TV FOOL report for this request?? one is needed to recommend the proper equipment.
signals unlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-May-2012, 2:22 PM   #5
furbymac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 8
not trying to doubt your all knowing wisdom electron, but how is it that one will pick up channels from 46 miles away when it is only rated for 40 miles?

not trying to be a smart ass or anything just trying to educate myself.


why would you pick that over something like this which is what i was looking at buying and possibly adding a pre amp if needed later
furbymac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-May-2012, 2:23 PM   #6
furbymac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by signals unlimited View Post
I don't see a TV FOOL report for this request?? one is needed to recommend the proper equipment.
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...de65f2a743676a
furbymac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-May-2012, 2:50 PM   #7
signals unlimited
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: south-central PA.
Posts: 453
The antenna claims of mileage are no more than guess work by antenna marketing hacs. The ANT751 with a Winegard 8700 pre-amplifier, (instead of the distribution amp) mounted outside with a clear view toward the stations should receive the channels to your South, and the strong stations to the North. If you want a larger antenna, Shop for a Winegard High VHF/UHF antenna.

Last edited by signals unlimited; 6-May-2012 at 3:00 PM.
signals unlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-May-2012, 3:33 PM   #8
furbymac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 8
I do have a few trees in the way all the way around. They are fairly thin. Would that affect anything?

Thank u all very much for your help.
furbymac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-May-2012, 3:40 PM   #9
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv Antennas and Tv Reception

The tvfool radar report is the fourth word of the start of this post. The word is , chart . The AP8700 preamp will most likley over load from the strong transmissions , 71.6 NM(dB) , 63.6 NM(dB) , 61.7 NM(dB) , 61.2NM(dB) , and be the cause of bad or no reception of some channels.

Last edited by Electron; 6-May-2012 at 10:45 PM.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-May-2012, 4:33 PM   #10
signals unlimited
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: south-central PA.
Posts: 453
No overloading should occur if you use the smaller 751 and the 8700. If you use a larger Winegard high V/UHF antenna no amplifier will be needed.
signals unlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-May-2012, 5:32 PM   #11
furbymac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 8
so say i did get the cm2018..... would i beable to still pick up some of the stronger signals from the north like i would with the 751?

i keep referring to the cm2018 because i have the option of picking it up locally without paying extra for shipping. and i would like to cut the cost of the pre-amp if i can but am not apposed to getting one if needed.


if i am understanding this all correctly though i should beable to use the cm2018 without a pre-amp correct. maybe just a small signal booster since i am going to split it with 2 tvs
furbymac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-May-2012, 11:43 PM   #12
signals unlimited
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: south-central PA.
Posts: 453
The 2018 is similar in size and gain to the 751 that I recommended. Since you have it available locally, use it. It may not need a pre-amplifier. You will only know after you install. An easy up-grade. You may not even need the distribution amp, just a two way splitter.

Last edited by signals unlimited; 6-May-2012 at 11:46 PM.
signals unlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC