TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 23-Jan-2011, 4:28 PM   #1
tarq476

Roof Antenna Install

I'm looking to drop my Dish service and go exclusively with OTA soon. I've been devouring as much information as possible from your posts here, but I thought some experts could help out with my specific situation:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...3cf4bf86c10ab6

I'm able to pick up CBS, ABC, FOX, and a few minors stations pretty clearly with a cheap indoor antenna. By the looks of my report, do you think I'd be able to pick up NBC and CW with a rooftop antenna? I think all of my stations are in roughly the same direction (within 3 deg), but I'm not an expert with reading the report.

Have most of you here installed your own antennas on the roof or do most opt for professional installation? I'm fairly tech savvy and I've dealt with my cables outside before to fix things, but I've never done a full antenna installation. Is there a detailed tutorial you would recommend for someone trying it for the first time? Will I be able to hook the coax directly to my outside cable box and split it through 3 TVs in my house?

Any specific equipment recommendations you would have for my situation?

Thanks for any expertise you can provide!
tarq476 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Jan-2011, 6:31 PM   #2
Tower Guy

Quote:
Originally Posted by tarq476 View Post
By the looks of my report, do you think I'd be able to pick up NBC and CW with a rooftop antenna? I think all of my stations are in roughly the same direction (within 3 deg), but I'm not an expert with reading the report.
Yes a rooftop antenna will get all of them;

Consider a HBU-33 or HD 7694P.

Here's the Channel Master installation guide, starting with page 4. Pages 1-3 are antenna selection. Ignore the part about walking the roof, you shouldn't need to bother.

http://www.starkelectronic.com/cmig4.htm
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote