TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 11-Apr-2017, 10:18 PM   #1
tluxon

Four stations from same location - one doesn't come in

In a suburb northeast of the greater Seattle area, I'm trying to set up an indoor antenna in an apartment that's about a mile closer to the same towers I've been accessing solidly from our house for many years.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4e94386598b

The problem I'm running into is that the major networks (ABC, NBC, CBS) come from [a] tower(s) (perhaps the same one) 8.9 miles away at 229 deg, but they don't come in equally. ABC and CBS come in rock solid and NBC is very difficult to lock onto a signal at all, fluctuating between virtually no signal quality (per a TiVo) for minutes at a time to a signal quality of about 60 for minutes at a time.

The antennas I've tried are the SolidSignal HDBLADE100CA and a rectangular 1byone 50-mile antenna (both came with amplifiers, which, when used, only made things worse).

Any ideas regarding what may be causing this discrepancy and what things I might want to try to resolve it? Is the fluctuation between 0 and 60 a multipath symptom, or is it something else?

Last edited by tluxon; 11-Apr-2017 at 10:24 PM.
tluxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Apr-2017, 12:01 PM   #2
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp

Your location behind a large hill that is in the direction of the towers on Queen Anne Hill. That means that the signals are going to be sharply diffracted and greatly weakened as that pass over that hill into your lower elevation location.

It's a common occurrence for the signals to become very scattered with pronounced dead and hot spots on a per channel basis. you might find one spot for the antenna where certain channels work but others don't and a different location with a difference combination channels.