TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-Apr-2012, 5:27 PM   #1
backtrack9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Is it my TV Internal Digital Tuner or Antenna Reception?

I need some help diagnosing whether I have an issue with my TV's internal digital tuner or with my antenna setup. I am having an issue with a specific channel, Channel 29.1 here in San Antonio (http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...3616d409f26954). The problem is a loss of signal only experienced when cycling the channel (either up or down) from 29.1. While watching this channel I receive a solid constant signal of 26db (as shown on the TV's strength meter) without fluctuation or drop-out. If I switch channels, say down to 12.1, and then back to 29.1 the signal drops to 0db. If I repeat the channel cycling a few times the signal for 29.1 magically jumps back to 26db. This issue only started a few days ago. For the past 11 months I have had this TV unit (Samsung Plasma PN59D6500) and antenna setup (attic mounted, non-amplified, homemade DB4) all of the signals have been >24db without any fluctuation. I am worried it is an issue with the internal digital tuner in my TV set. I called Samsung and spoke with the manager of the service department who insisted it is an issue with my antenna setup and not a problem with the TV (seemed like a standard pass-the-buck answer to me). I disagreed since the signal is lost only upon cycling the channel. He was not willing to address this as a warranty issue. My factory 12 month warranty on my TV set expires in two weeks and I need to get this diagnosed quick. Have other people had similar experiences when changing channels or is my TV's internal digital tuner messed up? Thanks for any help you might be able to provide.
backtrack9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-Apr-2012, 5:55 PM   #2
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
I'm tending to agree with you, that this does not sound like an antenna problem.

I suspect that the broadcaster may have changed something recently, and now your set is 'confused'. A full reset and rescan may help it forget the old channel line-up data and 'get it's mind right'.

Both of my larger TVs, (a Toshiba and a Visio) exhibit odd behavior. One gets confused every time the EPG data steam is interrupted at the station... a frequent occurrence with an independent and PBS station here in the Seattle area.

The other set displays virtual channel 9.1 when you try to tune direct to 9.2 or 9.3. You have to tune to 9.1 then use the CH-UP button to get the TV to display the desired sub-channel.

In both cases I suspect that both the station and TV are partially at fault. Getting one to claim the the blame hasn't happened yet.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-Apr-2012, 6:21 PM   #3
signals unlimited
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: south-central PA.
Posts: 453
I agree. The problem is due to a station change. A double rescan may fix. First remove the coax from your set and scan. This will clear out old information. Then reconnect your coax and scan. If this does not fix the problem, report it to the stations engineering department. Sometimes their PCIP generator parameters are wrong and they may not be aware untill reported.
signals unlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Apr-2012, 12:38 AM   #4
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv antennas and Tv reception

http://www.dtv.gov/rescan.html
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Apr-2012, 1:18 AM   #5
backtrack9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Partial improvement

I would like to say thank you to everyone who has commented on this issue. I did the "double rescan" two times in a row to be sure the old information was overwritten. The outcome was not 100% fixed but more like 75%. It still has the problem of 0db signal after channel cycling, but not nearly as often as before. So with this additional info, does it sound more like a TV component issue or should I wait for awhile to see if the station fixes settings which may be causing this issue? Thank you again for all of your help.
backtrack9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Apr-2012, 1:24 AM   #6
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv antennas and Tv reception

The issue is most likley a little of both the Tv station and the Tv. You can call the Tv station and communicate with the engineering department. And you can push the issues and get a different Tv.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC