TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-Nov-2012, 4:52 AM   #1
l3uddha
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Help determining existing setup

Hi, I would like to use the old existing antennae on my roof and I need some help determining what exactly is up there and some suggestions on upgrading the cables. I have attached a picture for reference, as well as the reception test. There is a two-prong wire from the lower antenna that I have my TV hooked into now. It runs about 30 feet into the basement, then as an experiment I hooked up a coax converter to it and ran temporary coax through the house to the TV. I get six channels, all under 11.x on my TV.

There is a top antenna, but the two-prong wire coming off of it is too old and corroded to use.

There is a rotator with a three-prong wire coming off of it, but I don't know if this works and I have no way to control the motor. It looks pretty rusty so I figure I'll just replace it down the road.

For now...
Does anyone know the differences between these two antennae? Are they for different frequency bands? Maybe this is typically written on the antenna somewhere?

Since there are two antennae, is there some way to combine both antenna signals into one coax cable to hook into the TV?

I will be replacing the old two-prong wires with coax. The coax cable will be run maybe a little more than 60 feet, half of that being outside. What type of coax do you think is best for this?

I would eventually like to put a wifi antenna on the roof also, and it would be nice to use this existing antenna mount. Will there be any issues mixing the wifi and TV antennae together?

thanks very much.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg antenna2.jpg (97.9 KB, 356 views)
File Type: png test2.png (69.9 KB, 349 views)

Last edited by l3uddha; 19-Nov-2012 at 4:59 AM.
l3uddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Nov-2012, 4:54 AM   #2
l3uddha
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
it may be hard to tell from the picture, but the top antenna is smaller and shaped like an arrow. the lower is flat and wider.

here is the report: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...cc49754dda2d0f

Last edited by l3uddha; 19-Nov-2012 at 2:50 PM.
l3uddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Nov-2012, 7:30 AM   #3
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Please post a live and active tvfool radar plot report.

Not a picture of a tvfool report.

http://forum.tvfool.com/dhowthread.php?t=4
  Reply With Quote
Old 19-Nov-2012, 2:49 PM   #4
l3uddha
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
here you go: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...cc49754dda2d0f
l3uddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Nov-2012, 2:51 PM   #5
l3uddha
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by teleview View Post
Please post a live and active tvfool radar plot report.

Not a picture of a tvfool report.
added it to the above post. thanks
l3uddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Nov-2012, 5:19 PM   #6
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
A Simple reception situation.

This my - recommendation. As always you can make your own choices.

I recommend a new single antenna. 1 antenna solution.

For the Boston area Digital Tv stations/channels , above the roof install a Winegard HD7696P antenna aimed at about 212 degree magnetic compass direction.

Here is how to aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html.

Here are some above the roof antenna mounts , http://www.ronard.com/909911.html , http://www.ronard.com/34424560.html , http://www.ronard.com/ychim.html , http://www.ronard.com.

Buy the ronard antenna mounts at solidsignal by typing the word ronard in the solidsignal search box.

Here are some places to buy antennas and etc. , http://www.solidsignal.com , http://www.amazon.com , http://www.winegarddirect.com.

For 1 Tv connected use no splitter , no preamplifier.

For 2 Tv's connected use a common simple 2 way splitter , no preamplifier.
_________________

As always , trees and tree leaves do a real fine job of reducing or blocking Tv reception and so do buildings and other obstructions including your own house.

It is best install the antenna at a location that has the least amount to no amount of obstructions of any type or kind in the directions of reception including or own house.

The Tv/s Must Channel Scan for the Digital Broadcast Tv Channels , sometimes named the 'Air Channels' or 'Antenna Channels' in the Tv setup menu because the Tv transmissions travel through the air from the transmitting antenna to the receiving antenna.

DO NOT channel scan for cable tv channels.

Last edited by teleview; 23-Nov-2012 at 4:30 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20-Nov-2012, 6:48 PM   #7
l3uddha
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
huh? I didn't ask where to point the antenna and I already have one installed.
l3uddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-Nov-2012, 9:20 PM   #8
Stereocraig
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by l3uddha View Post
huh? I didn't ask where to point the antenna and I already have one installed.
Those are just umbrella guidelines that he posts for everybody.
Stereocraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 8:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC