TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-Sep-2021, 3:15 PM   #1
meazz12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Auburn, GA
Posts: 37
Too many channels appearing recently

I have noticed recently there are over 125+ OTA channels appearing on my TV.
It looks like many channels I thought were not free but I am getting for free, for example, MAVTV, Power Nation, Sports Giro, Comedy Central, MTV Pluto, Skill Thrills, Film Rise, Hallmark Movies and many many more, news channels, etc.

Here's my location.
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90385225901fb6

Last edited by meazz12; 11-Sep-2021 at 3:35 PM.
meazz12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Sep-2021, 11:18 PM   #2
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by meazz12 View Post
I have noticed recently there are over 125+ OTA channels appearing on my TV.
It looks like many channels I thought were not free but I am getting for free, for example, MAVTV, Power Nation, Sports Giro, Comedy Central, MTV Pluto, Skill Thrills, Film Rise, Hallmark Movies and many many more, news channels, etc.

Here's my location.
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90385225901fb6
Hello, meazzz12

Your TVFool report is out of date. Here is an estimated report from rabbitears.info:
https://www.rabbitears.info/searchma...tudy_id=345875

You can do your own report here (I use coordinates from Google maps):
https://www.rabbitears.info/searchmap.php

Looks like you have some cable or streaming channels in there, not just OTA.

What do you get if just the TV only is connected ONLY to the OTA antenna, without any cable, DVR, or streaming connection?
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 11-Sep-2021 at 11:22 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Sep-2021, 11:40 PM   #3
meazz12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Auburn, GA
Posts: 37
Here another location:
https://www.rabbitears.info/searchma...tudy_id=345909

I have the OTA antenna connected to the coaxal antenna port to the tv and a Fire TV connected to the HDMI port of the TV.
The Fire TV has streaming apps running but I did not think that would do this.

No wonder they call this a smart tv.
meazz12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Sep-2021, 11:53 PM   #4
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by meazz12 View Post
Thank for the new report. That looks like a different location than your TVFool report.

Quote:
I have the OTA antenna connected to the coaxal antenna port to the tv and a Fire TV connected to the HDMI port of the TV.
The Fire TV has streaming apps running but I did not think that would do this.

No wonder they call this a smart tv.
HA HA, that's a good one!
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-Sep-2021, 1:00 AM   #5
RMinNJ
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 35
I know many of the new smart TVs will mix streaming channels into the guide with OTA channels.. usually they are free channels..subnsets from Pluto etc. Sounds like yours mixes channels from pay sources also. Its even more confusing when you have only the OTA antenna connected but the TVs wireless internet connection goes and adds streamed channels.
RMinNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 8:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC