TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3-Jan-2010, 12:52 AM   #1
kndevine
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Less than 15 miles from towers and can't get channels

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...c201606aa4dfb8

We are located "behind a hill" from the channels coming from the ~270 direction. The only channels we get are the first four on the list. We have a 15 year old VHF/UHF antenna in our attic (about 25' from the ground). It is pointed approximately 270. The coax cable goes from there to the basement and is then split to the two TVs in the house (and other outlets that are not in use).

Before the digital conversion, we were able to get channels 4 and 5 (that's all we got decently), but we could sorta see channels 7 and 9. Our new Vizio LCD TV tells us that there is no signal (signal strength=0) for channel 9.

Any suggestions?
Thanks!
Nancy
kndevine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Jan-2010, 10:41 AM   #2
mtownsend
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 632
Hello and welcome!

Quote:
Originally Posted by kndevine View Post
The only channels we get are the first four on the list. We have a 15 year old VHF/UHF antenna in our attic (about 25' from the ground). It is pointed approximately 270. The coax cable goes from there to the basement and is then split to the two TVs in the house (and other outlets that are not in use).
A few comments:

1) A pre-amp seems like a good idea for your situation. The length of the cable run plus the multiple splits means that the signal levels are dropping a good amount by the time it reaches your TVs. A pre-amp like the Channel Master 7777, Winegard 8275, or Antennacraft 10G202 installed close to the antenna will help you preserve as much signal quality as possible (makes the cable losses and splits almost irrelevant).



2) Put a 75-ohm terminator (like this) on any unused ports. Open ended cables will cause signal to be reflected back into the coax. This can create unwanted "echos" of the signal that act like interference to your TV's receiver.



3) Do you know the make/model of antenna? Or at least estimate the size and style of antenna? It might help to know just how powerful your current antenna is.



4) Have you considered installing an antenna on the roof? This might improve things in three ways: First, being outside means the signal does not need to pass through any roofing material to reach your antenna. Second, you probably have more space on the roof to consider using a larger, higher gain antenna. And third, since you are behind a local terrain obstruction, the added height might get you out of the "shadows" a little more and thus increase the available signal strength.
mtownsend is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 5:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC