TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 17-Feb-2015, 4:31 PM   #1
lobo012847

Lightbulb Micco, FL

I am a totally confused novice at TV antenna selection. I hope someone here can assist me in antenna selection. I live in Micco on the East coast of Florida (pretty flat). I have stations to the NNW (Orlando) and to the South (Ft. Pierce & West Palm Beach) . Both locations have stations from about 45 miles up to 62 (most) miles in the yellow/pink good/fair reception "zone". I have seen "omnidirectional" antennas advertised that seem to be good (too good?) and I figure that a roof mounted (15-20 feet high) omnidirectional antenna would work best in my situation. I live in a community with an HOA so looks and size of the antenna WILL be a factor. Something similar to the Lava Omnipro HD-8008 perhaps? Any help and POSITIVE comments will be a great help.

Thanks

PS: Here is the "radar" locator for the stations I should be able to receive.
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...2c1561fc8ec33b. Hopefully this web address is usable.
lobo012847 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Feb-2015, 12:01 PM   #2
signals unlimited

Antenna for HOA

The Signals Unlimited DTV-2D antenna is a 10" X 12" fiberglass antenna that should pass the HOA, as it is is similar to a small satellite dish, with a similar profile. The antenna is directional, but the rear panel removed it becomes a bi-directional antenna which would be ideal for your reception pattern. Used with a preamp, it should bring in all but the VHF 2 (real 11). Available at www.tripleplayantenna.com.
signals unlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Feb-2015, 3:30 PM   #3
timgr

To the OP - You are aware of the FCC rules regarding antennas, are you not? http://www.fcc.gov/guides/over-air-r...n-devices-rule