TV Fool

TV Fool (http://forum.tvfool.com/index.php)
-   Help With Reception (http://forum.tvfool.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   TV Antenna cable split 5 ways (http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=16371)

Frugal1SBM 12-Oct-2017 4:06 AM

TV Antenna cable split 5 ways
 
Hi, I am returning for more advice. The set up recommended under Antenna worked really well for one TV. We are now running the line into a splitter for 5 way split and the number of stations has dropped considerably.

How can I get the same reception on multiple TVs we had on one?

ADTech 12-Oct-2017 11:24 AM

Itemize the stations that were lost when the splitter was installed. Is the list the same for all TV sets? How about the TV set that was used for your initial setup and testing?

rabbit73 12-Oct-2017 3:27 PM

Your previous thread for reference:

Moved to new location

http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=16324

Your signal report from your previous thread for reference:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4ee500a804d

welkin 18-Dec-2017 8:52 PM

You might need a distribution amp instead of a splitter.

Frugal1SBM 19-Dec-2017 1:08 AM

Update to New location in WNY - distributing to 5 TV sets
 
I found local support from Home Technology Integrations (HTI) to come and look at the wiring which he commented had been done exact opposite of what was required. After reconnecting the lead into the splitter the correct configuration and adding an amp I now get a good range of OTA stations on all TVs. 21 channels were found, which HTI Cable guy commented was the highest OTA channels he had seen in the area. I need to delete some from my guide as not worth viewing.

There is one Canadian station I wish I could get but keeps dropping out with not a strong enough signal 9-1 CFTO. I may have maximized my draw but any suggestions?

ADTech 19-Dec-2017 12:38 PM

Quote:

I may have maximized my draw but any suggestions?
1. Get the antenna out of the attic and up in the air so the signals can actually get to the antenna.

2. Get a stronger high-VHF antenna and integrate it with your current antenna which would be relegated to UHF-only duty.

3. Both of the above, if required.

If you have to (or choose to) put your antenna in a compromised location, your reception is usually also compromised.

Frugal1SBM 19-Dec-2017 1:26 PM

ADTECH
Refer to my previous post - the antenna is on the roof and the MAX2 recommended by Rabbit in the combo UHF/VHF configuration. The antenna was exactly oriented by the compass to guidance provided in this other post. It was elevated above the original Dish location with a 5 ft extension which was close to the maximum allowed by the HOA. I am not sure whether I could get permission to do a tandem antenna. I already have the VHF poles attached.


My previous thread for reference:
Moved to new location

http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=16324

Your signal report from your previous thread for reference:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4ee500a804d

rabbit73 19-Dec-2017 7:09 PM

Quote:

I am not sure whether I could get permission to do a tandem antenna. I already have the VHF poles attached.
You would need a separate VHF antenna mounted below your present antenna to even have a chance for CFTO.

I will give you the details if you want to try it.

Frugal1SBM 29-Dec-2017 9:28 PM

VHF Tandem
 
Yes, after this winter I would like to try adding the VHF. When the trees leaf out the current channels will be weakened by interference to the north-west.

In the meantime, Redbox has added pay for view streaming which increases options which are discretionary to going to the theater. On an icy night it is good to have the alternative to driving to a box or going out at all.


All times are GMT. The time now is 3:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC