TV Fool

TV Fool (http://forum.tvfool.com/index.php)
-   Help With Reception (http://forum.tvfool.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Move to roof mount or forget about it? (http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=16512)

jcr159 27-Sep-2018 12:31 AM

Move to roof mount or forget about it?
 
I asked in the installer thread for a recommendation on an installer already to help out as an FYI...

Currently using a Denny's Stacker antenna in my attic:
http://www.dennysantennaservice.com/...enna-html.html

UHF stations are just fine, but have 2 stations (FOX and CBS) that are VHF-Hi band that come in most of the time, but break up a lot. Mostly seems weather related, around sunset, and sometimes randomly...

House is a 2 story colonial, so the antenna in the attic is probably 20+ feet above ground. It is mounted in the attic with a single run about 35' to my Tivo Roamio OTA. Currently using a Channel Master amp, the replacement for the MODEL 7777... Can't remember the model as it's in the attic..

Looking at my report (that i'll post next separately), it seems I may be getting a lot of my signal direct, and some reflected as I'm between the 1 Edge, 2 Edge, and LOS based on mount height

My question is: if I hire someone to move the antenna to the roof, what is the likelyhood I'll resolve my issues? (asphalt shingle roof), new construction circa 2009 for the whole development.

Other options? different antenna? Ganging a second antenna? others? I do have enough room to put another VHF antenna in the attic... Just not sure it would help since I'm not getting LOS signal from the problem transmitters (WOIO, WJW). And not looking to mount outside if I can't avoid it cause I'd rather not educate my HOA on the OTARD regulations if I don't have to... :rolleyes:

Thanks for any help!
-j

20' AGL:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90381d838f6410

25' AGL: (probably closest to my mounting height)
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90381f050fa499

35' AGL: (likely height if moved outside)
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...9038bef75bea43

JoeAZ 27-Sep-2018 12:59 PM

My question is: if I hire someone to move the antenna to the roof, what is the likelyhood I'll resolve my issues? (asphalt shingle roof), new construction circa 2009 for the whole development.
Based on the information you provided, you will vastly improve reception moving
higher and outside. Here is why: Your AGL vastly improves as you get near or above the tree level in your area. Your attic, as any attic, cuts signals and impairs reception.
I wouldn't be at all surprised if you pick up signals with a roof mount that you currently don't receive at all............ Good Luck!

jcr159 27-Sep-2018 9:11 PM

thanks @JoeAZ!

is there anything else about my setup that I should be changing? Antenna selection, amp, etc?


All times are GMT. The time now is 3:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC