TV Fool

TV Fool (http://forum.tvfool.com/index.php)
-   Help With Reception (http://forum.tvfool.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Please help with OTA antenna mount (http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=14914)

sirota 24-Sep-2014 1:48 AM

Please help with OTA antenna mount
 
I will be getting an HBU11 antenna and I would like to ask for help re-using a Dish mount. See the photo below:
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-3...923_184124.jpg

The location is good for the OTA, the wire is already there, the problem is the mount. If I attach it to the dish mast it would be too low, maybe even touching the roof. I understand the antenna should be about 3 feet above the roof.

What are my options here? If I just buy a J mount, it would also be too short.

Would a 1.25" x 5 ft. pole that various places sell be OK to stick inside the existing dish J mount?

What about just buying a pipe from a place like Home Depot?

Based on my measurements the existing J mount is about 1 5/8 in diameter, perhaps you guys know the standard measurement ID for a Dish branded antenna.

Thoughts? Ideas? I'm trying to keep it simple and not climb up on the roof, just want to re-use the location.

Thank you.

Stereocraig 24-Sep-2014 8:52 AM

That baseplate, doesn't look to be mounted to anything substantial enough to start adding weight, length and wind load to it.

Those things have a small footprint as it is.
Doing something it isn't meant to do, may only lead to a whole new set of problems.
That's why antenna tripods, cover so much of a larger area.

Maybe consider a roof mount tripod, or a gable anchored mast.
I seriously doubt that a tower would be your cup of tea.

Some people may even recommend a chimney mount. I won't.

sirota 24-Sep-2014 2:58 PM

I don't want to put it very high up, maybe just a 5 ft. mast. The location seems to be easy to get signal, I'm currently using an indoor Winegard Flatwave from Costco and it's usable for the most part. There isn't much blocking the LOS so I don't think I need it high up, just to clear the corner of the roof. The HBU11 claims to weigh 3.1 lbs, and it's fairly small from what I can tell, should I still be concerned about weight and wind?

Stereocraig 24-Sep-2014 4:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sirota (Post 46799)
I don't want to put it very high up, maybe just a 5 ft. mast. The location seems to be easy to get signal, I'm currently using an indoor Winegard Flatwave from Costco and it's usable for the most part. There isn't much blocking the LOS so I don't think I need it high up, just to clear the corner of the roof. The HBU11 claims to weigh 3.1 lbs, and it's fairly small from what I can tell, should I still be concerned about weight and wind?

The dish, or a small antenna, is one thing. Adding the weight and leverage of a mast, introduces an entirely new set of variables.

Some aspects of antenna installation, are standard and are best followed.
When you start improvising materials and locations though, it's either trial and error, or a matter of feel for the mechanics and physics that are unique to your particular project.

Unfortunately, "error" can be short for a crumpled antenna lying on the ground and/ or Pieces of the building damaged from lag bolts being yanked out. Or worse.

Stereocraig 27-Sep-2014 4:32 PM

And sometimes, we just ask the same questions on different forums, until we get the answer that we like best ;)

sirota 27-Sep-2014 5:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stereocraig (Post 46865)
And sometimes, we just ask the same questions on different forums, until we get the answer that we like best ;)

I have no idea what you mean ;) It's more about getting more brains to chime in with ideas, sometimes the suggestions are unexpected and very interesting.

Stereocraig 27-Sep-2014 7:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sirota (Post 46866)
I have no idea what you mean ;) It's more about getting more brains to chime in with ideas, sometimes the suggestions are unexpected and very interesting.

I just found it a bit strange to see your picture in another forum.

There sure is a myriad of info to process.
Some hard and fast and some, which is user specific.

sirota 8-Oct-2014 4:45 PM

Here's the aftermath, nice clean install, grounded. Very happy with it, at night I get stations all the way from San Francisco, 100 miles away (though I don't know exactly where they broadcast from, could be closer).

Thank you everyone for your help and suggestions.

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-t...008_093706.jpg


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC