TV Fool

TV Fool (http://forum.tvfool.com/index.php)
-   Help With Reception (http://forum.tvfool.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Newbie On site (http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=1104)

lymer 26-Dec-2010 12:55 PM

Newbie On site

Really new at this stuff and not the best tech guy. I want to try and check out in a basic way what I can pick up with the least amount of work and least amount of money spent. Of coarse it would be nice if I decide to take this a step further that Icould incorporate some of my spending into the newer, better set up down the road.

First step trying something indoor oreven an attic antenna. Which I have no knowledge of what so ever.

Can't seem to link my reception info, but I live in Ajax. Postal code L1T 3L4. Corner of Westney and just southeast of Rossland

Tigerbangs 26-Dec-2010 5:07 PM

Here is your TVFool.com report, based on your Postal Code:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...da32d2f2f678ad

It appears that the GTA transmitters are only about 40 KM from your location, and should be easy to get using a decent all-channel antenna. There are some digital stations currently operating from Toronto, and more that will come after August 31, 2011.

Most people from GTA can also see the Buffalo, NY stations if they use a proper antenna mounted on their roof. In your case, it would appear that the Buffalo stations will require a deep-fringe antenna, a rotator, and a high-input preamplifier. Please remember that ALL the US stations that you can receive are now digital, and will require either a digital-ready TV tuner or an outboard converter.

I can make specific recommendations if you like, but I believe that you should decide how far you'd like to pursue TV reception, then we can better advise you.

John Candle 27-Dec-2010 6:59 AM

Tv Antennas and Reception