TV Fool

TV Fool (http://forum.tvfool.com/index.php)
-   Help With Reception (http://forum.tvfool.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   New Antenna? Weather..from Ant751 (http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=16333)

mogulman 8-Aug-2017 3:44 AM

New Antenna? Weather..from Ant751
 
I've had an RCA Ant751 attached to the side of my house up near the roof. Feeds 2 outlets with a single outdoor splitter. Both outlets are about 50 feet from the antenna (cable length), down side of house through basement and up through floor. One outlet goes directly to a 50" Insignia TV. The other outlet has a splitter that feed two dual tuner Hauppauge hvr-2250 cards (total 4 tuners) in a wmc 8.1 htpc. RG6, grounded. no amp.

Reception strength is a little better on the insignia TV. I'm assuming because it is either more sensitive than the PC cards or it isn't split again.

In general reception is good most of the year. Since I put up the antenna, trees have gotten bigger. In the summer, reception is worse. Especially if it is rainy. Sometimes I can only get a few channels in the rain. All the stations I care about are about 30-35 miles away at around 300-310 degrees, green TV fool area. Combo of UHF, hiVHF.

Wondering if a bigger antenna would help. I really want to keep the antenna
In the same location, if possible, not sure how large an antenna I could mount to the wall of the house.

The Ant751 has been up for about 7 years. There is a big Aspen tree right in front of it, line of sight to stations (branches/leaves, not main trunk), within a couple of feet.

Any suggestions?

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4d838dfbfdc

mogulman 8-Aug-2017 6:12 AM

Antenna's Direct Elev-J3, looks like a bigger Ant-751?

JoeAZ 8-Aug-2017 12:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mogulman (Post 58625)
Since I put up the antenna, trees have gotten bigger. In the summer, reception is worse. Especially if it is rainy. Sometimes I can only get a few channels in the rain.
The Ant751 has been up for about 7 years. There is a big Aspen tree right in front of it, line of sight to stations (branches/leaves, not main trunk), within a couple of feet.

Any suggestions?

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4d838dfbfdc

By far, your biggest issue is the trees and the close proximity to them.
If there is another point for you to mount an antenna, further or away
from the trees, that would help. A new, larger antenna might help as
well but not as much as getting away from those trees......

ADTech 8-Aug-2017 1:05 PM

Joe is correct.

If the problem is due to the growth of the tree(s), then that is what needs to be addressed by either moving the antenna or moving the tree (some selective pruning, perhaps). Simply swapping to a different antenna might make a difference once in a while but one usually ends up trading one problem for another only on a temporary basis (until the tree grows more).

mogulman 8-Aug-2017 1:25 PM

In general, is the antenna a good one for my distance, assuming I can move the antenna? I may just be willing to live with the tree, as we also stream a lot of media, and reception is ok during the fall, winter and non-rainy days. It has been unusually rainy this summer.

rickbb 8-Aug-2017 2:43 PM

Assuming you could find a spot on your property that would give you line of site without the tree, then yes it's a good antenna for your plot/expectations.

However as has been said, you would likely trade a tree problem for a different problem like longer cabling and need a amp which has it's own problems. If you find a better spot, then the cabling may have to be completely re-done.

It's up to you as to what you are willing to go through to get better rainy day reception. Different location on the roof with a tripod mount? Put a tower in the yard? Put a mast in the tree? And so on, the list is endless.

mogulman 8-Aug-2017 3:28 PM

1 Attachment(s)
ok...I looked again.. The antenna is actually pointing between two trees. I think I can clear some branches between, so there are no leaves at the level of the antenna, without it looking too funky. I'll have to wait until the roof dries.

I don't think I want to move the spot too much from where the antenna is mounted.

Any use in trying a larger antenna also, after I cut the branches? not sure what the next step up would be, or if anything else would fit in this area. More than likely I would probably need 2 steps up to really notice anything.

Attached a pic of where it is currently located.

There is one item that is making the situation worse, too. One of the stations in the Denver area, Channel 20, 20.1. I think they are having problems with their transmitter for the last month. There is nothing on their web page, but I messaged them on facebook. They said it is operating in low power mode until they can get the transmitter fixed.

ADTech 8-Aug-2017 4:28 PM

We would need to see the view that the antenna "sees". That is, a photo from directly in front of or behind in the aiming direction.

If channel 20 is busted, you'll probably need to wait for them to repair it. See https://enterpriseefiling.fcc.gov/da...5d3da2033a05ed

mogulman 8-Aug-2017 11:11 PM

Thanks for the info from the FCC.. I guess I didn't think to check on the FCC. How did you find that?

Billiam 9-Aug-2017 1:05 AM

I've got the very same problem at my home. Trees and taller building surround it. I resolved the very same issues that you mention by using a stronger antenna and a rotor. Now I rarely have any dropouts on my weakest signals. Also use a pre amp which has helped greatly despite the fact I am in a strong signal area. Signals are so weak at my location that the pre amp apparently is not overloading at all. Just make sure if you use a pre amp that you buy one that is less prone to overloading in strong signal areas.


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC