TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-May-2010, 5:44 PM   #1
22350
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Reception in Los Angeles

Hello Everyone,

I have just tried for the first time to use DTV.

I purchased a box and amplified antenna from radio shack.



Almost no channels come in. I am missing 11, 9 ,13, and a bunch of others.

I tried to make one of the home brew antenna:



I am in the middle of Hollywood California and can't get reception.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...9fbef6d3742056

Starting to think this DTV is a scam.

Am I missing something?

Paul
22350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-May-2010, 6:46 PM   #2
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,869
Try loosing the amplifier. Place your antenna in a window that faces north-east and re-run your channel scan.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-May-2010, 7:37 PM   #3
Tigerbangs
TV Reception Maven
 
Tigerbangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 339
Send a message via AIM to Tigerbangs Send a message via Yahoo to Tigerbangs
remember that Los Angeles has 4 major VHF digital TV channels; KABC, KCAL, KTTV and KCOP: neither of the antennas that you have pictured is likely to be able to see those stations well. Is there any possibility of mounting an antenna on your roof? You should be able to see tons of stations if you do...
Tigerbangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-May-2010, 10:03 PM   #4
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Tv reception

You Do Not need a antenna amplifier , the signals are so hot that the amplifier WILL Overload and blank out the reception. The signals are so hot that any piece of wire will give many channels. . So what is your living situation , do you live in a steal box? Are there any windows or patios with this steal box that face the transmitters. Is the coax cable defective , is the converter box defective , is the tv defective.? . Do you live in Apartment , Condo , First floor , second floor 3,4,5,6,7, floors. Do you live in a house? Is the building made of concrete?

Last edited by teleview; 31-May-2010 at 10:56 PM. Reason: Spelling corrections and update/clarify information.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 8:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC