TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-Sep-2013, 6:31 PM   #1
protivakid
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 43
Distribution amp or Splitter?

Hey,
I recently purchased a Mohu Sky HD. (Yes I know there are better antennas and yes I know it's thought of as overpriced. Anyhow, for me it pulls in a good amount of channels especially given I am 45+ miles away from the towers in a terrain filled with hills.)

Ok so back to my question, the Mohu comes with a small pre-amp and for the one tv I have hooked up everything is working well. I do plan to hook up 1-3 additional TV's in the near future and from reading it seems doing this will degrade my signal. I see some recommend using a distribution amp such as the ones I listed below.

Do you think I will be fine with a splitter or is a distribution amp recommended? Will the Mohu pre-amp & distribution amp conflict with one another?

http://www.amazon.com/Digital-Amplif...pr_product_top

http://www.amazon.com/Channel-Master.../dp/B001PI09SE
protivakid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Sep-2013, 8:43 PM   #2
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,743
I would keep it simple. Try a passive splitter first. If it works, you saved money and avoided adding a small amount of noise that might cause trouble with an already marginal signal.

If the added loss in cables and splitter causes you to loose reliable reception, then add a CM-3410 ahead of the passive splitter.

FWIW, the CM-3410, CM3414 and PCT-MA2-4P are all the same 15 dB gain amplifier. The multiple output port versions simply package a passive splitter in the same case. I like to maintain the flexibility of being able to change the splitter, so I opt for the single output model.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Sep-2013, 8:46 PM   #3
protivakid
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 43
That's a great idea. I'll probably use the existing splitter I have, try the other TV's and pick up a 1 port distribution amp if needed.

And yes I did ground the mast included w/ the Mohu haha.
protivakid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
distribution amp, mohu, splitter

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 5:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC